Blog Header Redesigned by Kim Bartolome

Have you noticed the beautiful new look of the blog care of the new header? I’ve been toying with the idea of changing my blog’s header for a while now. As much as I love my previous header, I’ve had it for more than three years and it wouldn’t hurt to redesign the blog. The previous header was designed by my graphic artist friend Kim Bartolome. You can check out his artwork by visiting his Deviantart site or Facebook page. I asked Kim if he’d be willing to draw a shiny new artwork for my blog header and I was thrilled when he agreed to do it. I thought it would be nice to have a consistent artistic style even with the change of design.

I told Kim about the kinds of books that I enjoyed reading and gave him free rein on what he wanted to include in his artwork. I love the epic fantasy feel of the whole thing and how the female warrior can represent so many of my favorite characters. The lion can also stand for Ilona Andrews’ Curran from the Kate Daniels series or C.S. Lewis’ Aslan or even the lions in EWein’s Lion Hunters series. I also love how this gorgeous artwork looks like a painting. I’m pretty hopeless when it comes to art so I’m in awe of anyone who can come up with something like this.

Here’s the progress of the artwork while he was working on it:

1 page progression

If you’re interested in requesting artwork to be designed by Kim, whether it’s a blog header or not, feel free to reach out to him at k.bartolome(at)yahoo(dot)com. What do you all think of this new header? Do you think it’s a good fit for my blog? Would love to hear what you guys think.

26 thoughts on “Blog Header Redesigned by Kim Bartolome

    • Asti, glad you think the header fits my blog! He was uploading those work in progress images as he was working on the artwork and they made me even more excited to see the final outcome.

  1. You already know what I think (love it) – your friend is very talented. It is so cool to see the progress too. I think it fits your blog. It has a dreaminess and fantasy quality to it that I think reflects what you read, and I like the girl in armor, relaxing with her sword. πŸ™‚ Overall: I like this change up.

    • I was laughing when you figured out that there was a new header right at the time that I was changing the layout. He really is talented, I’m glad he was willing to make headers for my blog. I think this new one is an even better fit than the old one because it reflects my reading tastes. I like the lady warrior as well because I’m always interested in well-written epic fantasy novels that have a main character like that.

      I’m excited to see your new header! You’ve gotten me curious when you mentioned that it’s going to have floating islands as well.

    • Li, it makes me happy that the rest of you think the header looks good. I feel like the colors look relaxing because they’re not too loud. I hope that’s how people feel when they look at the design.

  2. Wow it’s awesome! I really like it! Your old logo was cute, but change is good too, and I’m sure YOU’RE happy to see something fresh every day!

    • Terri, I’m VERY happy to see a change like this on my blog. A header is a big change, I feel like it affects the whole look of the blog. I hope it encourages people to drop by more often. πŸ˜›

  3. Chachic, I love it! And I’m so happy you posted the pics of the art as it went along, I love looking at those types of things (as someone with zero artistic talent I find this sort of thing fascinating). So many wonderful aspects, this totally gives Angie’s header (one of my absolute favorites) a run for its money!

    • I’m so happy he let me post those pictures! He was the one who created that progression image. I’m not very artistic either, I could only draw stick figures. Aww that’s so sweet, that you think this one gives Angie’s header a run for its money. I love Angie’s header too. And Chelle’s as well as Ana and Thea’s new one.

    • Kristen, thanks for dropping by to comment! I’ve missed seing you around here. Love what you said about how the artwork captures the feeling of books taking us to different places. I agree with that idea.

  4. I haven’t been really on the blog circuit anymore, but glad I caught this on Twitter! It looks really, really great! And I love how it does keep up with the look of what you had prior to this one. Great work, Kim!

    • Isn’t it great that both are new headers are designed by Filipino artists? *Pinoy high five* I’m glad you think the new artwork is similar in style to the old one, I wanted to have that kind of consistency.

  5. Pingback: Kate Daniels: My Favorite Urban Fantasy Series | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: How did you come up with your blog name? | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Book Haul: August 7 | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Magic Shifts by Ilona Andrews | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: New Blog Banner by Clarissa Ines |

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

