Want Books: Sugar Rush

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I heard about the Cupcake Club series by Donna Kauffman through Laura Florand. I saw in one of her updates that she was excited to get a copy of the latest book in the series. I immediately looked up the premise for the first book, Sugar Rush, and decided that it looks like a fun contemporary romance, focusing on delicious desserts, much like Laura’s own novels. Also, check out that cute cover filled with all kinds of cupcakes. They look yummy! I’m a huge fan of cupcakes so that’s another reason why I want to read this one.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Sugar RushWhen baker extraordinaire Leilani Trusdale left the bustle of New York City for Georgia’s sleepy Sugarberry Island, she didn’t expect her past to follow. Yet suddenly, her former boss, Baxter Dunne, aka Chef Hot Cakes, the man who taught her everything pastry, wants to film his hit cooking show in her tiny cupcakery. The same Chef Hot Cakes whose molten chocolate-brown eyes and sexy British accent made Lani’s mouth water and her cheeks blush the color of raspberry filling – stirring all kinds of kitchen gossip, much of which Lani wished was true…

Lani’s friends are convinced that this time around, Baxter is the missing ingredient in her recipe for happiness. But convincing Lani will be a job for Baxter himself. And he’ll need more than black velvet frosting to sweeten the deal…

Looks like there are currently four books in the series right now and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll enjoy reading all of them. What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Any books that you’re curious about because it was recommended by a favorite author? Just for fun, what’s your favorite cupcake flavor? Mine are red velvet and earl grey.

Red velvet from 12 cupcakes

Red velvet from 12 Cupcakes, my favorite cupcake store in Singapore

9 thoughts on “Want Books: Sugar Rush

  1. I haven’t seen these before but they look cute. Maybe a little to cute for me? I don’t know. Fortunately my library has the first one so I can find out without spending money. Added it to my future adult fic check out list. Thanks!

    • Yeah, they do seem like fluffy reads. I’ll let you know how it goes if I manage to read the first book before you do. But it’s a good thing your library has a copy than you can just borrow to try out this author.

  2. Red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese icing – THAT is definitely my favorite. I’m partial to birthday cupcakes to though, with vanilla icing and sprinkles. (I love discussing/eating cupcakes.) I also think that book looks pretty swell! I’ll have to check it out IF I finished Laura Florand’s series πŸ˜‰

    • Same, I love red velvet with cream cheese frosting. That’s what I usually try when it’s my first time to visit a cupcake store. When you go here in Singapore, you should definitely try 12 Cupcakes! Will let you know what I think of this book when I get the chance to read it. In the meantime, you can read Laura Florand first. πŸ˜€

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

