Book Haul: A Package and Some Galleys

I haven’t done a book haul post in a while and even though I haven’t received a lot of books lately, I thought it would be fun to highlight what has been added to my TBR pile. Rachel Neumeier and I were chatting about some of our favorite comfort reads and she mentioned Gillian Bradshaw.

RachelNeumeier_on_Gillian Bradshaw

I’ve never read any of Gillian Bradshaw’s novels and Rachel very generously offered to send me one of them. Because she’s so nice, she threw in a copy of one of her books and I received a lovely package containing these:

Package from Rachel Neumeier

The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier
The Beacon at Alexandria by Gillian Bradshaw

Here’s a funny story, I gave my office address to Rachel because it’s easier to receive packages in the office. If a package doesn’t fit in the mail slot for our flat, I’d be given a slip and I have to pick the package up from the post office (which only has extended hours on Wednesday nights). So it’s more convenient to use my office address, but I had to give my full name and Rachel signed the book with both my nickname and full name:

The Floating Islands signature

My index finger is there to hide my full name πŸ˜›

Can I just say that getting packages in the office considerably brightens up my day? Even better when a co-worker mentioned that it’s cool that I get packages with books inside them. I have to agree that it’s pretty awesome. Thank you SO much for these, Rachel. I look forward to reading them! I’ve also been approved for some titles on NetGalley, which is note-worthy since my requests usually get rejected.

Flirting With DisasterBrooklyn GirlsThe Chocolate Touch

Flirting With Disaster by Ruthie Knox
Brooklyn Girls by Gemma Burgess
The Chocolate Touch by Laura Florand

I’ve read all of Ruthie Knox’s novels and I haven’t reviewed any of them on my blog. I really should work on that. I’m looking forward to Brooklyn Girls since I enjoyed reading A Girl Like You by the same author. If you’ve been following my blog for some time, then you would know that I haven’t stopped talking about Laura Florand since I discovered her work and it’s not surprising that I was super excited to receive The Chocolate Touch. I’ve been waiting for it to go up on NetGalley for weeks now. Thank you, NetGalley and publishers, for giving me access to these titles!

The Chocolate Touch ebook

I devoured The Chocolate Touch as soon as I could and I just finished reading it tonight. Hopefully, I can review it soon. Last but not the least, here are some postcards that I’ve also recently received:

Postcards 20130613

Thanks to Steph and Flannery for some of these postcards! What about you, any new books added to your pile?

14 thoughts on “Book Haul: A Package and Some Galleys

    • It’s much more fun to receive packages at work, right? It breaks the monotony of a usual work day. I have both The Floating Islands and The House of Shadows in my TBR pile. I’ve heard good things about both of them. I just need more free time to read books!

    • Oh I received the package about two weeks ago but got the galleys this week. I usually try to combine book haul posts because I don’t get that many in any given week. I agree that the cover design for The Floating Islands looks good! Her other novel, House of Shadows, also has a lovely cover.

    • Yes, go and request them! It’s a good way of trying out those two authors. Yeah, I agree, wish we had more time to read and blog. There have been days during the past few weeks when I felt like reading rather than working. If only real life didn’t get in the way of reading!

    • I usually only request books that I really want to read. I’m pretty bad at reviewing galleys because I’m always behind on reviews. I should work on that.

      • Wuh wuh, denied. I guess I asked too late. Oh well, I will just wait till the book comes out and buy it, so I’m not gutted. Looking forward to your review!

      • Oh no, sorry to hear that you got denied! Will let you know what I think of it when I get the chance to read it. I tried the first chapter the other day but wasn’t in the mood for it so we’ll see.

    • You’re planning to read Brooklyn Girls next? Let me know how it goes! And yay for starting Laura Florand’s series this week. I have a feeling you’ll enjoy reading it so maybe you should just go ahead and request The Chocolate Touch? πŸ˜›

  1. Oh so random info: I’ve been pronouncing “Chachic” wrong. I was pronouncing the second syllable as “cheek” instead of “chick”. Then Janice said your name right at BEA, and I’ve been mentally correcting myself ever since. Just noticed your pronunciation in your new bio! πŸ˜›

    Isn’t Rachel the BEST? I love her and her recommendations, and the fact that she sent you one of the books (and one of hers) is wonderful. Keertana from Ivy Book Bindings and I are actually planning to read The Floating Islands together starting Friday! Feel free to join us if you’d like, we usually just post in the Goodreads review of the book so anyone can read our thoughts, though I know e-mail’s usually easier for you.

    I looked at Brooklyn Girls, but it sounded too like the show, Girls, to me, which I really don’t like, so I decided to wait and see what others thought before I picked it up. Seriously need to get on those chocolate books, though!

    • You’re the first one who has noticed that I added my name’s pronounciation in my bio. Yeah, some people pronounce the second syllable of name as “cheek”. I forgot to mention that the emphasis is on the first syllable so it’s “CHA-chic”. So funny that you keep mentally correcting yourself, I do that all the time when I discover that I’ve been pronouncing a name wrong.

      Yep, Rachel is awesome! I was so surprised when she offered to send me books, I know how expensive international shipping can be. I look forward to reading the books that I received from her. Oh I’m currently in the middle of House of Shadows. If I manage to finish that by Friday then maybe I can start on The Floating Islands and informally join you readalong (and also so I can say that I’ve read a book about floating islands since my header now has those).

      I’ve never heard of the show Girls but the cover and premise of Brooklyn Girls remind me a little of Gossip Girl (what’s with “girl” in all the titles). You really need to read Laura Florand’s novels, would love to know what you think of them. Janice has mentioned that you’ve talked about reading those books soon.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

