Chachic's Book Nook

17 thoughts on “A Girl Like You by Gemma Burgess

  1. I’m glad you ended up enjoying this one overall, despite the quibbles. Like you I liked that this story encompassed more than just relationships, that Abigail’s life also included her work it wasn’t just there in the background – it was important. I’m going to have to check out Brooklyn Girls on netgalley..

    • Thanks again for recommending this one, Janice! I had fun reading it even though I had some issues. I think it was great that we got to talk about it a little bit after I finished reading. I really enjoy contemporary romance that doesn’t just focus on the relationship. Have you read Dating Detox? I wonder if it’s good as well. Brooklyn Girls looks interesting.

  2. Gotta love having a friend with the same taste in romance. There are waaay too many romance novels out there to navigate the waters alone! I’ll check this out. Thanks for the post.

    • Yep, there are way too many romance novels out there! I mostly get recommendations from trusted bloggers, otherwise I wouldn’t have an idea what to try. Hope you enjoy reading this one. 🙂

  3. Oh I so love romantic novels … This so goes in my to-read list ….
    I recently completed reading The Avery Shaw Experiment by Kelly Oram ….
    & I so enjoyed it ….
    Try it …
    😉

  4. I’ve seen Brooklyn Girls quite a few places, but it doesn’t sound fluffy enough for me, whereas this one… 🙂

    • Oh I wouldn’t describe A Girl Like You as fluffy either! I thought it was initially but then I realized that it wasn’t after I got into it. I hope you still pick it up though. 🙂

  5. I LOVE that you enjoyed this one, because I have a copy waiting for me 🙂

    • Saw your comment in Janice’s review, it’s cute that we both added this to our pile because she mentioned that it has shades of Sarra Manning in it. Let me know what you think when you get to read this, Allison. 😀

  6. Pingback: Book Haul: A Package and Some Galleys | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. This sounds nice. *adding to the towering TBR*

    • I know the feeling! I have way too many books on my wishlist and on my TBR pile. I’ve accepted the fact that I won’t be able to get to all of them any time soon. Hope you get to read this one when the mood strikes.

  8. Hey, thanks for the link! 🙂 I definitely think you will enjoy The Dating Detox if you enjoyed this one!

  9. This sounds like it was delightful to read! I think it would be a great beach read for me, so I’ll have to keep it in mind. I’ll be reading Brooklyn Girls first though!

    • It’s a good read but like I said, not as light as I initially expected so I’m not sure how it will hold up as a beach read. Give Brooklyn Girls a try first and maybe you can check this out when you end up liking that one.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

