Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Down London Road

17 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

It usually only takes one overwhelmingly positive review from a trusted book blogger to convince me to read a book. And I’m a sucker for Angie’s bibliocrack recommendations. After all, that’s how I discovered some of my favorite contemporary romance authors like Julie James, Jennifer Crusie and Sarra Manning. So when Angie reviewed Down London Road by Samantha Young, it went straight to my wishlist. Fellow YAcker Laura created a button that’s applicable for situations like this:

recommended by Angie

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Down London RoadJohanna Walker knows what she wants. And that’s a strong, steady, financially secure man who will treat her well and look after her and her little brother, Cole – something her parents have never done.

But when she meets the gorgeous Cameron MacCabe, a new bartender at work, Jo can’t deny the instant and undeniable attraction she feels. Cam doesn’t fit into her strict specifications of her perfect partner at all – but for once she is tempted to let her heart rule her head.

And as their intense connection grows, Jo has to stop hiding the truth about herself and her family. Is Cam prepared to accept Jo for who she really is? And is Jo willing to let someone into her life for keeps?

The premise reminds me a little of Unsticky by Sarra Manning and I could totally relate to wanting to find a steady and financially secure man – that’s just practical, right? πŸ˜›

What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Hope you’re all having a lovely weekend so far.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Want Books: Down London Road

  1. Holy crap there’s an Angie crack button, and it is so appropriate.

  2. hmm… there are so many to choose from, too many! but I’ll go with Katie McGarry’s 3rd book which just got a cover reveal this week. I got to read the first chapter already, in a teasers, and it’s seriously peaked my ‘want’ interest!

  3. I keep hearing so much about these books that I want to read them but I’m nervous about it.
    Let me know if you do end up reading it.

    • Really, Alex? First time I’ve heard of it when I saw Angie’s review. Will definitely let you know how it goes when I get the chance to read the books. Seems like the second one is better than the first and they don’t need to be read in order.

  4. LMAOOOOOOO at the Angie button!! I’m adding Down London Road next to Unsticky on my recommended by fucking Angie and Chachic list. πŸ™‚

    • See, we could all relate to the Angie crack button! So you have Unsticky, Down London Road and Laura Florand on your list. πŸ˜› Maybe there should be a combined Angie-Chachic button?

  5. Lol. Love this comment thread.

  6. The cover of this book is lovely! I like the way the light glows around the girl’s form a lot, and it would probably have caught my eye had I seen it on a bookshelf in a store. I don’t think I’ve heard of it, but the story sounds great.

    • I really like this cover as well. I saw another edition in Goodreads that had more of a romance feel to the cover and I think this one is better. I hadn’t heard of this book until I saw Angie’s review.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

