Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: The Book of Lost Things

8 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

On my last trip home, I grabbed my copy of The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly because it was chosen for our next YAckers discussion. Now, I find it a little funny that I’ve had my copy of this book for YEARS and I still haven’t read it. I can’t remember the exact date but it was probably in 2007 or 2008, I know I bought it when I was still in my first job. I didn’t have a blog then and I thought the cover, designed by paper-cutting artist Rob Ryan, looked pretty. The premise looked like something I’d enjoy reading as well. Since I think the book looks great, I thought I’d take some shots before reading it.

The Book of Lost things cover

Check out my copy, still wrapped in its plastic cover! It looks brand-new.

The Book of Lost Things_boy reading

I really like the details of the artwork in the cover particularly this boy reading a book.

The Book of Lost Things quotes

A couple of lovely quotes to start us off…

The Book of Lost Things chapter headings

I like how the chapter headings (or should I say first letter of the chapter instead?) give off a fairy tale vibe.

How about you, have you encountered any books with beautiful covers lately? Do you have books that have been waiting around in your TBR pile for years now? And let me know if you’ve read this book, it would be good to know your thoughts about it.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: The Book of Lost Things

  1. I still have to read my copy, too, lol! He even signed it two Novembers ago…

    Ack, but your copy is BLUE and GOLD. So pretty!

    • Wow, you have a signed copy! What’s the color of your cover? I really like this blue and gold edition, I think the colors go well together.

  2. That book looks gorgeous! I haven’t read it either, but I’d be very inclined to pick it up if I saw it on a shelf. Love the color and I love the fairytale feel of the starts of the chapters too 🙂

    • I think I remember someone mentioning that the story itself has a fairy tale feel as well. Will let you know when I’ve finished reading it!

  3. It looks so pretty! Let me know what you think, it sounds intriguing and I might pick it up.

    • Rosie, I’ll keep you posted. Even if I don’t manage to post a review, I’ll be participating in the YAckers discussion so I can always just provide the link when the post goes up. 😛

  4. Oooh, I’ve loved this cover forever, but since I’m listening to the audio I didn’t get to see the illuminated letters at the beginning of the chapters! Love it. This is definitely the type of book I’d pick up off a shelf for cover appeal alone, I hope you have time to read more of it soon, I’m really enjoying it!

    • It’s a beautiful cover, right? I like the artwork and the color scheme. And I think it goes well with the fairy tale feel of the book. I’m glad you’re enjoying the audio version, I’ve never tried listening to an entire book on audio – I don’t think I’d be able to pay attention enough to absorb the story.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

