Chachic's Book Nook

ArmchairBEA: Blogger Development

10 Comments

armchairBEA

I’m glad I was able to squeeze in another ArmchairBEA post for this week. I was getting worried that I wouldn’t have time to work on it because this week has been really busy. I really like today’s topic because we get to talk about how we develop our own blogs, which can be done in many different ways. Here are the guide questions:

Day 2 we talk about how we develop ourselves as bloggers. Have you branched out into your community? Do you partner with other bloggers? Have you gone “pro” or begun supplementing your income through your blog? Are you a long-term blogger, and how has your online personality developed over the years? These are simply ideas. Think development and tell us what comes to mind.

As I mentioned in my ArmchairBEA introduction post, I love interacting with fellow book lovers in the book blogging community. I’m on several social media sites and I chat and reach out to other book bloggers through Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr and Instagram. I also enjoy participating in certain memes as a way of connecting with other bloggers, I really like Retro Friday and Top Ten Tuesday. When I have time, I also join community-wide events such as ArmchairBEA, Bloggiesta and Book Blogger Appreciation Week.

Since I’ve been blogging for more than three years now, I feel like I’ve gotten to know some of my blogging buddies pretty well. Aside from blog comments (I just wanted to mention that it might take me a while but I do reply to all the comments on my blog) and chats through social media sites, emails also let us share information in more detail. I always consider it a very good thing when I get to meet up with blogger friends in person. When I was living and working back home in Manila, I got to meet fellow Filipino Book Bloggers on a regular basis but I haven’t been able to do that as often as I’d like now that I’m based in Singapore. Last March, I was lucky enough to meet Michelle of See Michelle Read and Maggie of Young Adult Anonymous in Southern California when I was there to visit relatives. And yesterday, I had dinner with Steph of Steph Su Reads!

With Steph Su

Steph and I having chicken rice for dinner

I think readalongs are a lot of fun and I like doing it with blogger friends because at least we can discuss books as we read them even if we can’t meet in person. It feels great to be able to have someone to share your reactions with as you read, instead of waiting until you finish a book. As an added bonus, we avoid including spoilers in our reviews but we can include them in discussions when we’re doing readalongs. In fact, my friend Michelle and I enjoy readalongs so much that we decided to come up with a feature for it called Novel Gossip, we’ve only discussed The Chocolate Rose by Laura Florand so far but we’re definitely planning to do more!

Novel Gossip

I feel like my personal interests heavily influence what I post on my blog. I love eating so I pepper my blog with food-related pictures. I’m a big fan of snail mail and I exchange postcards with several book bloggers so I started doing a Postcard Love feature. It seems like other people enjoy reading my posts even if they’re not all about books. I think what makes blogs interesting is when you can see the individual personalities of the bloggers behind the blogs. Personally, I like the feeling that I’m getting to know the person through his or her posts.

In closing, I just wanted to mention that I’ve never monetized my blog and I’m not even sure if it would be worth the trouble. What I would like to happen is for my blog to help me explore my options career-wise. I’ve talked about working for something that you’re passionate about and I’m obviously passionate about books. I’m in the process of finding my purpose and whether that’s related to my passion so let’s just see how it goes. Expect to hear more about this in future posts.

What about you, how have you developed your blog through the years, months or even just weeks since you first started? Care to share ideas on what have worked for you?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “ArmchairBEA: Blogger Development

  1. I love the postcard idea! I like sending (and receiving) them too.

  2. Top ten Tuesday seems to be a popular post topic! I think I might have to check it out!

    • I don’t get to participate in Top Ten Tuesday every week but I do make a point of joining when there’s a topic that I’m really interested in. Check it out, it’s a fun meme. 🙂

  3. I love the ideas you have. Postcard love is so interesting. I used to collect Postcard from where ever I traveled. I don’t know why I stopped. I should start again. And you seem to be so active. I wish I had more time.

    • Here’s something that I picked up from a friend: whenever you travel, send a postcard to your home. That way, when you get back, you have a nice souvenir waiting for you. 🙂 Better than unsent/unwritten postcards, right?

  4. I do like how you make your blog very personal at times, with lots of food/friend references. It always feels very homey around here 🙂

  5. I do love this topic of discussion, as I think everyone’s blogging story is a little bit different. In my case, I started up a personal blog in 2005 and maintained that (switching only in platforms and blog names) till 2011. It was the year I discovered that people blogged about books, and that made me excited. Books were always a passion of mine, and I thought I’d jump in and join the community.

    I use social media (especially Twitter) to help connect with other people in the book blogging community. Collaborating on events or blog features is also something I definitely enjoy doing, as it helps me get to know my fellow bloggers!

    But I think, most of all, it’s injecting personal posts every now and then into my blog that I enjoy doing. I like letting people get to know me better through those posts! You do something very similar, which is why I adore your blog as much as I do!

    • Thanks for sharing your own blogging story, Alexa. 🙂 I started a personal blog in college, I can’t even remember what year – maybe 2003? Back when LiveJournal was popular and most of my college friends had personal blogs. I was able to maintain that for a few years and then stopped for a while. I revived it again when I started working because I wanted to participate in two book-related LiveJournal communities: Sounis and Athanarel. After that, I started discovering book blogs and I decided that it was something that I’d enjoy doing.

      Yep, I agree. Personal posts are great. I think it’s always a good thing when you get a better sense of the person behind the blog. It feels like a friend is suggesting books for you to read, instead of you getting recommendations from a stranger.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

