Chachic's Book Nook

Top Ten Favorite Book Covers Of Books I’ve Read

33 Comments

Top Ten Tuesday2

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is favorite book covers. While readers don’t usually judge books by their covers, we do pay attention to them. An ugly cover won’t prevent me from reading a book but I’ll definitely comment on how it looks like. On the other hand, a beautiful cover will make me want to own a physical copy of the book – sometimes even if I don’t enjoy reading the story. I don’t usually discuss covers in detail, not like my friend Capillya of That Cover Girl does, but I do take notice of covers that I think are pretty or if they fit the story very well. Here are some of the covers that have stood out for me:

Australian cover for The Piper's Son

The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta (Aussie edition) – I’ve always loved the Aussie edition of this book, one of my favorite Marchettas because I think it’s a good depiction of Tom. I think the lack of color shows how Tom’s life is so bleak at the start of the book.

Pegasus

Pegasus by Robin McKinley – Such a beautiful artwork for a young girl and her pegasus, I immediately wanted to own a copy as soon as I saw this cover.

Queen's Thief

The Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner – As you call know, I’m a huge fan of this series and it doesn’t hurt that I think the covers match the stories inside. Vince Natale did a great job in these designs, incorporating the common theme of hands and partially-covered faces.

The Mark of Solomon

The Lion Hunter and The Empty Kingdom by Elizabeth Wein – Another favorite series that has well-done covers, I like the artist’s style in these drawings because they look like paintings.

Scorpio Races UK

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater (UK edition) – I think this UK edition is much better than the US edition, fits the killer horses better than the other cover design.

Unsticky

Unsticky by Sarra Manning (UK edition) – Love the magazine look of this cover, I think it’s perfect for glamour aspect of the story.

The Chocolate Kiss

The Chocolate Kiss by Laura Florand – I actually like both the covers for the first two Amour et Chocolat novels but I like this one a little more because I’m a huge fan of macarons. And the dog adds to the overall cuteness.

Attachments cover

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – I really like the office setting in this cover and that it shows all three of the major characters in the book. I like the bright and happy color scheme as well, I’m glad I was able to grab this edition.

Seraphina

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman – Gorgeous artwork of a dragon flying over a city, here’s another cover that fits the book perfectly.

A Face Like Glass

A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge – This cover looks magical, just like the story that it represents. I like the emphasis on the figure in the middle while scenes of craftsmanship are shown at the edges.

As you can see, I tend to have a theme in my favorites: I like covers that don’t actually show people’s faces because it lets my own imagination do the work when it comes to how I want to picture the characters. I really like artwork as well, especially when I feel like it’s a good fit for the story inside. It’s so much fun to look at pretty covers, I wish I could have postcard versions of all of these so I can send them to friends. What about you, what are some of your favorite book covers? Are there covers that you like even if you didn’t enjoy reading the book?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Book Covers Of Books I’ve Read

  1. I have The Scorpio Races on my To-Read list. I see what you mean about the cover… the one I’m likely to get a hold of is a bit pedestrian. But at least the story will be the same.

    • Oh I hope you enjoy reading The Scorpio Races! It’s a lovely book and one of my favorites in 2011. I first read the Kindle edition and then I couldn’t resist getting a copy of the gorgeous UK cover when I saw it in Hong Kong.

  2. Attachments…MUST read Attachments!! 😀

    p.s. Love the new look on your blog!

    • Yes, do read Attachments! That’s a good one. I have a copy of Eleanor & Park patiently waiting to be read and I’m planning to read Fangirl when it comes out.

      Thanks, I like playing around with WordPress themes whenever I get tired of my layout. This current look will be changing again because I will be getting a new header. 🙂

  3. We share the KING and UNSTICKY covers. Huzzah!

  4. The Piper’s Son cover is my favorite, hands down. I was soooo tempted to get the UK paperback of Scorpio Races but then I saw the US paperback and I really like it. Have you seen it, Chachic? Thoughts? Love the Chocolate Kiss, The Thief, and Seraphina covers. I need to read Unsticky. I’ve only read Adorkable by Sarra Manning.

    • The Piper’s Son Aussie edition is one of my prized possessions, I should dedicate a shelf for books like that. I feel a little sad that my copy is in Manila. Yep, I’ve seen the US paperback of The Scorpio Races and I think they did a better job with it than with the hardcover. It’s just as gorgeous as the UK paperback, I think (the giant Printz sticker is a bit distracting though).

      You haven’t read any of Sarra Manning’s adult titles? Oh you have to check them out! They’re all quite thick but you wouldn’t notice because they’re well-written conteporary romance novels. I’ve only read her adult books, I’ve yet to try her YA ones. I have Adorkable on my Kindle though.

  5. I love the Aussie Cover of Piper’s Son. I got it and It’s one of my most beloved items 😀

    • Same, it’s one of my treasured copies! I have the US hardcover as well. I just need the US paperback and my collection of The Piper’s Son will be complete. 😛

  6. Oh my gosh the UK version of Scorpio Races is SOOOO gorgeous. I want it!

  7. A Face Like Glass’ cover is amazing. I’ve never seen that one. Seraphina’s is very cool, too. Great list!
    Natflix&Books’ TTT

  8. I absolutely ADORE that cover of The Piper’s Son and am so bummed that I own that less awesome US edition! The whole feel of that alternate cover is SO urban and raw and gritty–which is what I always feel when I read Marchetta’s contemporary works. It is PERFECTION.

    My TTT

    • Yes, exactly. The Aussie edition is so much better for all the reasons you mentioned. It really is perfect for Melina Marchetta’s writing. You can order that edition from Fishpond if you’re interested, they have free worldwide shipping.

  9. I have KoA and Seraphina on my list too.

    I love the Australian cover of The Piper’s Son. I would have used that but I decided to stick to US versions. I love that cover of Attachments you posted too. I haven’t seen that one before.

    • Brandy, I don’t find that surprising. I’m glad we have those two covers in our lists. Oh hey, I just noticed that even though I used editions all over the world (Aussie, US and UK), I own copies of the editions that I posted. Got that copy of Attachments in Manila, I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that they had the UK edition and it wasn’t that expensive.

  10. So many pretty covers! I forgot about the UK cover of Scorpio! It’s very stunning. I think I prefer it to the US edition. The Wein covers have very nice artwork as well.

    • I think these covers came to mind because I own copies of the editions pictures. It’s a good thing that having different editions enables us to pick the ones we like but it’s frustrating when they’re not readily available.

      You haven’t read EWein’s Lion Hunters series, right? Hope the covers will convince you to give them a try.

  11. I’m the same way about people’s faces. I’d rather not have them on the covers, so that they don’t influence what my imagination “sees.” Glad I’m not the only one who feels that way!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  12. YES YES YES to Seraphina and The Scorpio Races!

  13. The covers for The Queen’s Thief series are GORGEOUS. I haven’t read it yet, but seeing those covers all together sincerely makes me want to read it as soon as I possibly can! I also really like the cover of A Face Like Glass – it seems so magical to me!

    • Alexa, you do know that I will be pushing you to read the Queen’s Thief series on Twitter now that you’ve admitted that you haven’t read it? It’s one of my absolute favorite YA series! 🙂 It’s a good thing you find the covers interesting, that might make it easier for me to convince you.

  14. OH my! I love so many of these too. The Thief books, Scorpio Races, that version of The Piper’s Son (I still need to track down a copy of that). Wonderful choices.

    • Michelle, you can try Fishpond for the Aussie edition of The Piper’s Son because they have free worldwide shipping. Have you seen the US paperback cover? http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13453868-the-piper-s-son It looks great too! I want to get a copy of it as well.

      • I have been keeping my eye on the one over at fishpond for a while now — maybe I’ll splurge for it when my birthday comes around 🙂 And while I like the US paperback version, it just doesn’t do much for me compared to the Aussie one. I ADORE that cover. It just catches the entire feel of the book.

      • Same, I’ve been looking at Fishpond and trying to decide which Aussie books I should order. I think you should splurge and order a birthday gift for yourself if you’ve been wanting the Aussie Piper for a while now. 😛 It really is perfect for Tom’s story.

  15. my two faves on here are the pipers son and the choclate kiss ❤

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

