Want Books: Going Vintage

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I saw Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt in several posts for Top Ten Tuesday’s topic for this week: light and fun reads. I looked up the premise and it does seem like a contemporary YA novel that I’d enjoy reading. Plus, I really like the UK edition pictured below – the old school feel of the picture goes with the title and premise.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Going VintageSixteen-year-old Mallory loves her boyfriend, Jeremy. Or at least likes him more than she’s ever liked any other boy. She’s sure he feels the same way. Until she happens upon his online Authentic Life game and discovers he’s cheating on her …online Mallory’s life is falling apart and technology is the cause. And then she finds a list, written by her grandma when she was Mallory’s age. All her grandma had to worry about was sewing dresses and planning dinner parties. Things were so much simpler in the 1960s. And there’s nothing on the list that Mallory couldn’t do herself. Maybe it’s time for Mallory to go vintage and find the answers to her modern-day problems.

I’m really curious how Mallory will go about giving up technology in her life. It’s funny because as much as I love social media and the convenience of technology, I still appreciate certain things that can be considered vintage nowadays, such as postcards and film cameras.

What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Is there a particular title that has caught your eye recently?

8 thoughts on “Want Books: Going Vintage

  1. Argghhh…so true! I love social media, but appreciate cute vintage stuff! Cannot live without Facebook, blogging, and so force… but…I love old cameras, cute blouses that look retro/vintage… can’t I have it all?? πŸ˜€

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

