Chachic's Book Nook

We are part of the 1%

15 Comments

1percentrule

I find it funny that I’ve been blogging for more than three years now and I’m pretty active on several social networking sites (Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram) and yet I only heard of the 1% rule the other day. Basically, the 1% rule or 90-9-1 principle states that in any online community, 1% of the people are creators, 9% are commenters and 99% are lurkers. This means that 1% will actively create content maybe through blog posts, while 9% will comment and react, and the remaining 90% will just lurk and watch what’s going on in their feeds. I found this really interesting because I knew right away that I’m part of the 1% when it comes to the reading community. I mean, come on, I have a book blog! That definitely makes me a creator, right? I wonder if all book bloggers can be considered creators since we do publish our own content such as reviews, discussion posts, guest posts and interviews. Commenters are probably the ones who read book blogs and leave comments from time to time. They’re readers who enjoy interacting with fellow book lovers but don’t feel compelled to write their own reviews or start their own blog. Lurkers are probably readers who just check out reviews to help them decide what to read next. Or they enjoy reading book-related news and discussions but are quite content to just see what’s going on instead of diving in to comment. I’m not sure if these numbers are accurate or if they even apply to the reading community but it kind of makes me feel special to be part of such a small percentage. I also find it funny that I went through all those stages – I was a lurker before then I started commenting once I realized that book bloggers are actually quite friendly. Until finally, I decided to start my own book blog.

Have you heard of the 1% rule before? I tried Googling and some articles say that the 1% rule isn’t applicable anymore as more and more people become digitally engaged. In any case, I thought it would be fun to share this little tidbit of information with all of you since the fact that you’re reading this post in a book blog means that you’re probably a reader who’s aware of the blogosphere and the online reading community.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

15 thoughts on “We are part of the 1%

  1. I have heard of the 80/20 rule – 20% of customers provide 80% of income (I think) but not this principle. Although when looking at the number of people that view my blog and the few that comment (most of them aren’t creators), I can see that it backs it up.
    Good post.
    Ann

    • I haven’t heard of that 80/20 rule either. This 1% rule is quite interesting, isn’t it? I thought it would be something that book bloggers would want to know about. Yeah, I only get a handful of comments too, definitely not as many as the visitors that show up in my stats.

  2. I hadn’t heard of it before, but yeah, it sounds about right, I’m a bit of aluker at times

    • Alex, I wouldn’t think of you as a lurker because you have your own book blog! 😛 And I keep getting comments from you (which I really appreciate) as well.

  3. I haven’t heard this before either, Chachic, but it makes sense to me! I can see how it would be changing as people become more engaged. I personally started as a lurker, became a commenter, and then finally started contributing myself. Though, I’ve been so busy lately I kind of feel as if I’m moving backward through this process on my way to being a lurker again.

    • Same, I wouldn’t be surprised if a lot of bloggers went through all the stages before deciding to become a creator/book blogger. You know it’s funny because I’ve been here in Singapore for a couple of months now and I still feel like I’m adjusting to the move in terms of blogging. I’m still not as active as I’d like to be – I used to visit other blogs and comment a lot more back when I was in Manila. And of course, I had more posts then too.

      • Yep! I totally feel ya. I just started a second job, and unfortunately, that’s really cut into the time I’m able to spend visiting others’ blogs, and I’m also not reviewing nearly every book I read. Ah well, I suppose we have to find a balance somewhere.

      • If you don’t mind my asking, what’s your second job? Or you can DM me if you don’t want to reply here. 😛 Shucks, I can’t imagine having to balance two jobs, a social life and extra-curricular activities such as reading and blogging. I barely have enough time as it is what with work, chores and everything else.

  4. Pingback: Want Books: Going Vintage | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. I was initially a lurker, just admiring all the book blogs and taking note of new books I ought to check out. But then, one day, something just clicked in my soul (corny, I know) and I decided to join the 1% and become a creator. The rest, as they say, is history 😉 Cool fact to share though!

    • I think I felt a bit shy back when I was lurker, I didn’t think I could write as well as the bloggers I followed. Then I realized that it doesn’t really matter how well you write as long as you can convey how you felt about the book through your reviews. Glad we both decided to become bloggers, otherwise we never would have “met.” 😛

  6. i hadnt actually heard about this before…

    i feel like i am a very lazy part of the 1%. i used to comment a lot more and blog more, as well.

    BUT havign said that, i think my life priorities are better now, haha. i only have so much time ni a day but i do miss those days of wandering around new blogs and commenting alot. now i seem to only rely on already established friendships…

    • I totally feel the same way, Nomes. I barely get to comment on other blogs nowadays and I used to do that a lot more often back when I was in Manila. I would love to be able to do that again but as of now, it’s good enough that I’m able to post from time to time. Just like you, I’m also relying on established friendships – catching up with people through email, chat or Twitter. Hopefully, we’ll have more time to interact and post soon! 😀

  7. Interesting! I might be tempted to think it needs to be updated since nowadays people are more social media inclined, but whatever the new % is, I’m sure the creators are still in the minority. Bringing in new content or creations takes time and effort!! 😉

    p.s. I have a book and an art blog. Surely that constitutes me a creator!! 😀

    • You’re right, even if the percentages have changed, creators will still be a small part of the population. Yes, you’re definitely a creator as well. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

