Chachic's Book Nook

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

17 Comments

I’ve been aware for a while that The Statistical Probably of Love at First Sight is a good book. I don’t know why I kept putting it off, maybe I just wasn’t in the right kind of mood for it. So I waited and I finally felt like reading it on my flight from Singapore to the States back in March. I thought it would be a very fitting read because I was also on my way to attend a wedding (although unlike Hadley, I was excited for the wedding that I was going to). It was fun to read a book about a character who was experiencing something similar to what I was going through.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

The Statistical Probability of Love at First SightToday should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. Having missed her flight, she’s stuck at JFK airport and late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon-to-be stepmother Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s sitting in her row.

A long night on the plane passes in the blink of an eye, and Hadley and Oliver lose track of each other in the airport chaos upon arrival. Can fate intervene to bring them together once more?

Quirks of timing play out in this romantic and cinematic novel about family connections, second chances, and first loves. Set over a twenty-four-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

A draft for this review has been sitting in my dashboard for a while now. I don’t know why I’ve been having a hard time trying to capture how I felt about this book so let me keep it short and concise. I found it a little funny that I was traveling by myself and I was reading a book about a girl who meets a guy while traveling by herself. I mean how likely is that, right? Now that I’m based abroad, I mostly fly on my own whenever I travel and I’ve never had an experience like that. In spite of that, I think this is the perfect book while waiting to board a plane or during the flight itself. It’s a quick and fun read with just enough emotional depth to make things interesting. I liked the family dynamics in story, how complicated Hadley’s life is because her dad is about to marry the woman responsible for her parents’ divorce. Hadley’s reluctance to attend the wedding is understandable. But it’s a good thing she did because one flight becomes a turning point in her life. I really liked this passage about Hadley’s dad giving her books:

“It wasn’t that she was meant to read them all. Maybe someday she would, but for now, it was more the gesture itself. He was giving her the most important thing he could, the only way he knew how. He was a professor, a lover of stories, and he was building her a library in the same way other men might build their daughters houses.”

Every book lover will be able to appreciate the sentiment. Who wouldn’t want to receive books to slowly build a library? And it’s a great feeling to share a mutual love of books with someone that’s a huge part of your life. It’s nice that even though the title, the cover and the premise all suggest that this is a love story, it really is more than that. This is a short and sweet novel, recommended for fans of first loves, meet cutes and family interactions. Looking forward to Jennifer E. Smith’s next novel, This Is What Happy Looks Like.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. It is short and sweet. I loved the Dickens aspect of this novel, it enriched it so much.

    • Yep, I liked that aspect of the story as well. Even though I’m not a Dickens fan (don’t hate me, I think I never got into his work because we didn’t read him for school).

  2. I loved this book! I thought it was super cute, and read it pretty quickly. Even though the likelihood of meeting a cute guy on a solo flight is close to nil, it is a lovely thought, you have to admit. I think Jennifer did a fab job telling this story!

    • LOL yeah, it’s pretty rare for a girl to meet a cute guy while traveling by herself. Or even meet anyone interesting to have a long converation with. Yes, this one was a quick and fun contemporary read.

  3. I enjoyed this one too. Such a lovely quick romantic read. I wasn’t as thrilled with This is What Happy Looks LIke. I think my expectations were so high after liking this so much.

    • Really? What was it about This is What Happy Looks Like that you found disappointing? I don’t think my expectations are that high after reading this one, I mean I enjoyed it but it’s not exactly a favorite.

  4. i’ve been hearing a lot about this book! thanks for the review! i’ll definitely include this in my list. seems like a cute read. 🙂

  5. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one. What a perfect time to read it, too! I nominated thus book for my family book club, and it was liked by most. I forgot about that quote! *love* I liked the Dickens aspect too. Made me want to read Our Mutual Friend.

    • That’s good that your family book club enjoyed reading this one! I don’t find that surprising at all. Like I said in a reply above, I’m not a Dickens fan but I did enjoy that aspect of the story.

  6. I keep hearing about this book as well. I once had a very interesting chat with a fellow in my aisle, and we even exchanged Facebook profiles. It never went any further than that though, so I agree about the improbability of it.

    Oh wait…that IS the title of the book now, isn’t it? 😉

    • There was also one time when I had a nice, long conversation with an older Italian lady but I didn’t even get her name! No contact at all after the flight. Maybe I should put more effort into reaching out to people when I travel.

  7. Great review! I just finished the book and am finding myself thinking about my next plane ride (although I feel pretty certain nothing like that would ever happen to me in an airport. I can be pretty tired/grumpy when I fly).

    • LOL same with me, I know it’s unlikely that something like this book’s plot will happen to me but I still enjoyed reading it. It would be nice if I do experience having an interesting conversation with someone during a plane ride, it doesn’t have to be a romantic encounter.

  8. Pingback: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Bookish Meet Up at Tweedle Book Cafe | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

