Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light and Fun

Top Ten Tuesday2

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is such a good one. I love light and fun reads because I feel like they come in handy whenever I feel like a book slump is about to occur. Or when I want to cleanse my reading palate after reading a dense fantasy novel or an emotionally heavy book. I don’t have to be in a certain mood to read books like the ones I’ve included here, I can just pick them up whenever I want to read something that’s easy to get into. In no particular order, here are my top ten light reads:

I Do and At First Sight by Elizabeth Chandler – Bantam’s Love Stories series was the YA series to follow back when I was a teen. These two by Elizabeth Chandler are my favorites. I can’t even remember the number of times I’ve reread these.

Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra – I feel like I’m a broken record because I keep saying this but Mina is my favorite Filipino chick lit author. I could relate to her novels because they’re about young Filipino women and her books are set in the Philippines.

Something About You by Julie James – All of Julie James’ romances are filled with a healthy dose of humor, which is why I enjoy reading them. Something About You is the first in her FBI/US Attorney series and my favorite so far. There’s just something about main characters who keep bickering to hide their attraction.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – Such a swoon-worthy novel set in one of the most romantic cities in the world. Really enjoyed the tension between Anna and Etienne.

The Chocolate Thief by Laura Florand – Another novel set in Paris! But adult contemporary romance instead of YA. Couldn’t help but feel good whenever I read Laura Florand’s novels – I’m a fan of how she combines romance with delicious food.

Laduree macarons

Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen – This one might not be considered light because the main characters have to deal with some pretty serious issues but there’s something magical about the writing that makes it so much fun to read.

A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson – The first Eva Ibbotson novel that I ever read and it’s still one of my favorites. I love the fairy tale feel of this historical fiction novel.

Silent Blade by Ilona Andrews – I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this since I’m not a sci-fi girl. I didn’t get confused by the details of the sci-fi setting and I really liked the romance

The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley – I could relate to Harry’s thirst for adventure and I loved living vicariously through her (and all other strong female characters I admire).

The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner – I know, I know. A book riddled with political intrigue isn’t usually considered light fare but I’ve reread this book so many times that it has just become a comfort read. Plus, Gen is always good for some laughs.

I’ve noticed that most of my picks for light reads are contemporary novels and that ALL of them have some kind of romance in them. It sure looks like I enjoy a well-written love story in my feel good reads. Do you agree with some of my choices? What are some of your own favorite light reads?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light and Fun

  1. I’m right there with you for The Blue Sword — also Beauty and The Hero and the Crown. Also anything by Sarah Addison Allen. Also anything by Lois McMaster Bujold — I’ve read them often enough to pick any of them off the shelf, open it anywhere, and fall right into it. For me her Sharing Knife series is the best “comfort read”.

    • I actually had a hard time deciding between Beauty and The Blue Sword, I wanted to include both of them in this list. Oooh good to know that you’re a Sarah Addison Allen fan as well. I remember reading the first Sharing Knife novel but I wasn’t compelled to read the rest of the books in the series. I also read Young Miles because so many Megan Whalen Turner fans rave about Miles Vorkosigan.

  2. The Chocolate Thief sounds amazing! I also enjoy romance novels that involved great food! I also have Anna and the French Kiss on my list! I figured it would be on quite of few! x

    • I had a feeling Anna and the French Kiss would make it on a few lists! It really is a light and fun book. Since you enjoyed that, you’ll probably like The Chocolate Thief as ell. πŸ™‚ Let me know when you get the chance to read it.

    • Angie, am I that predictable? πŸ˜› I feel like I keep mentioning the same favorites over and over again but I can’t help it when they fit the topic so well. Eva Ibbotson’s writing is just lovely. I remember I asked you for similar recommendations and that’s how I discovered Nine Coaches Waiting.

  3. I would totally pick an Eva Ibbotson, Robin McKinley, and Julie James book for my list too. Although I’d prolly add Jennifer Crusie’s entire backlist to this category πŸ™‚

    • Glad you agree with some of my choices! I know we don’t have the same favorite Ibbotson, McKinley or James though. I was thinking of adding Bet Me to my list but I wasn’t able to squeeze it in. πŸ˜›

  4. Romance makes for great fun so it’s not at all surprising so many picks contain romance. πŸ™‚

    I’m so happy someone else put KoA on their list!!!!

    • Yep, romance is always a good idea when you need something fun. I had a hard time deciding between QoA and KoA and finally thought that the latter is a bit lighter than the former.

  5. I wouldn’t have thought of The Blue Sword as “light and fun,” hahaha. But I like how it makes your list different from just a list of light contemporary romances!

    • Haha The King of Attolia is even heavier than The Blue Sword, isn’t it? Those two are just so familiar that I find comfort in reading them, which is why they’ve been included in this list.

  6. Nice list. πŸ™‚ I really need to read Garden Spells (I’ve had a copy for awhile) and The Blue Sword, don’t I?

    • You haven’t read Garden Spells and The Blue Sword? Okay, now you know that I’m going to bug you until you bump them up. πŸ˜› You’ve read other Sarah Addison Allen and Robin McKinley books, right?

  7. Pingback: Want Books: Going Vintage | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

