Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: How to Save a Life

10 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Shoot That Book nail polish edition is back! I always take advantage of cheaper nail salon rates whenever I’m in Manila. Everything is much more expensive in Singapore so I’ve never gotten a haircut or had my nails done here. I went to a nail salon with my friend and she said she was getting a colored French tip and it looked nice so I got the same thing. Incidentally, the colors that I picked matched the cover of a book that I recently received: How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr.

How to Save a Life

This book reminds me of The Fray song that has the same title. Wonder if it fits the story? My nail polish posts are easy – I just choose a book that has a cover that matches the colors of the nail polish that I have on. I wanted to highlight a blogger who does amazing nail art. Mandee is the girl behind The Bookish Manicurist and she does beautiful artwork with her nails. What’s even better is she matches her nails to the covers of the books that she reads. I love all of the nail art that she’s posted because they all look so pretty and nail art based on books – what’s not to like? You have to drop by her blog to check it out. I wish I was half as good as she is when it comes to painting nails.

The Bookish Manicurist

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: How to Save a Life

  1. Oh, so that’s why the title is familiar. It’s The Fray’s song! Anyway, I haven’t tried Sara Zarr. I also have heard of Sweethearts from Chris (of Ficsation). Have you read that one?

    • Hi Tin, I’ve heard of Sweethearts as well but I’ve never read any of Sara Zarr’s novels. That’s one of the reasons why I’m interested in How to Save a Life – I’ve been hearing good things about it and I want to try the author’s writing.

  2. This is cute! And your nails totally do match the cover (and make me want to get that kind of manicure done!). Also, I LOVE Mandee – she is SO talented! Her nails are always gorgeous.

    • You should totally try a colored French tip, it’s a lot more fun than the usual French tip. Yep, love Mandee’s blog – I’m blown away by the details that she includes in her nail art. Always a work of art.

  3. Oooh, I’d NEVER heard of The Bookish Manicurist before, but looking at her To Kill a Mockingbird post alone made me subscribe instantly. So pretty! I just started painting my nails somewhat regularly (which is huge for me), partially because I love all of these pretty nail + book posts! I really want to read some Sara Zarr sometime, I hope you enjoy, Chachic!

    • LOL found out on Twitter that you already know Mandee. Her nails are amazing, aren’t they? It’s so much fun to just look at her creations and see how she interprets book covers. I still have to work on learning how to paint my nails regularly, I’m usually too lazy to do that. Will let you know what I think of Sara Zarr after I’ve read this one, I’ve heard this is a good one to start with. 🙂

      • I do already know Mandee from Vegan YA Nerds! So it was really crazy to find she had another blog. My boyfriend’s a painter (not professionally), so he actually always does my right hand for me since I’m terrible. I showed him Mandee’s stuff and told him he needs to start doing that sort of thing, lol. But then I’m sure he’d murder me when I chipped them an hour later.

      • Wow, that’s nice that you can get him to even paint your nails! LOL what did he say when you showed him Mandee’s blog?

  4. Rather random, I know, but what is the WordPress style/layout you use currently for your blog?? Because I love it!

    • It’s called Adelle. 🙂 just browse through the free themes that WordPress offers. I usually filter for “custom header”. I’m planning to change my theme again when I get the new header.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

