Book Haul: MNL to SIN Stash Part 4

Happy Labor Day, everyone! May 1 is a holiday both in Manila and Singapore. I took advantage of that fact, claimed two vacation days and flew to Manila for the weekend. I got back in Singapore this morning. I had a great time in Manila and I always feel like the time I spend there is never enough – I guess that’s usually the case when you only get to see friends and family once in a while. Anyway, I wanted to share with all of you the books that I’ve acquired the past few days.

Right before I left for my flight to Manila, I saw a package waiting for me in our mailbox. It contained a signed copy of Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco Stork. My blogging buddy Holly is good friends with Francisco and through that connection, I’ve started exchanging emails with him some time ago. He is such a kind and amazing person that it comes as no surprise that I’ve enjoyed talking to him about random things, not just about books and writing. I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that I’ve never read any of his books. That’s going to change soon! I’ve heard nothing but good things about Marcelo in the Real World so I’m pretty excited to read it. I’d like to thank Francisco for being generous enough to send me a copy of it.

Marcelo_signed copy

During the weekend, I had dinner with a good friend and she mentioned that she hasn’t given me a gift for my birthday yet and that we should drop by Fully Booked so I can pick something. No arguments from my end!

Fully Booked Fort

My favorite branch of Fully Booked – several floors of bookish goodness.

She ended up getting How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr, a washi tape roll featuring sea creatures and plain old scotch tape for me. She couldn’t resist adding the scotch tape to the mix, saying that “it’s a classic” compared to washi tape.

Belated birthday gift_how to save a life

Now this isn’t book-related but most of you seem to enjoy seeing my washi tape rolls so I wanted to show these as well. I asked some of my friends to order washi tape rolls from Hey Kessy and Bee Happy Crafts and we had a washi swap (my friend made the washi-covered clips):

May 2013 Manila washi tape haul

More rolls to add to my collection! Which one is your favorite?

Pretty cute, aren’t they? When I have some free time, I’m going to try and make washi postcards. Moving back to books, I’ve noticed that lately, I’ve been reading more contemporary than fantasy novels so I grabbed these three titles from my own bookshelf to bring back with me to Singapore:

MNL to SIN May 2013

Rebel by R.J. Anderson
Arrow by R.J. Anderson
Elfland by Freda Warrington

I now have way too many unread books in my bookshelf here in the flat. Which is why I only grabbed three books from my bookshelf even though I could have fit more in my luggage. I found it a bit surprising that I didn’t end up buying books even though I visited several bookstores. But then again, I haven’t even read all of the books that I brought from my last trip home.

I got a book in Yosemite for my six-year-old godson and he liked it so much that he gave me a card to thank me:

Allen's card May 2013

When I got back to the flat, I also had a Hawaii postcard waiting for me:

Hawaii postcard - May 2013

What about you, got any interesting books, postcards or washi tape lately? πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a good week so far. The great thing about this week is I only have to go to the office for two days. By the way, I’m planning to change my blog header soon so watch out for that.

6 thoughts on “Book Haul: MNL to SIN Stash Part 4

  1. Pingback: Shoot That Book: How to Save a Life | Chachic's Book Nook

  2. Aww, what a nice tribute to Francisco! I hope he reads it, and that you can read Marcelo soon. And How to Save a Life. I think you’ll find it very like the song.

    I’ve been curious about Elfland since Kristen recommended it. You’ll let me know what you think, right? πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad that you get to visit Manila every so often.

    • I hope he reads it as well. But even if he doesn’t, I can just tell him that I’m thankful for his kindness and generosity. πŸ™‚ Okay, I look forward to reading How to Save a Life then! Seems like a book that I’d enjoy reading.

      Yep, I was curious about Elfland because of Kristen’s recommendation and I couldn’t help but admire the beautiful cover. I will definitely let you know what I think of it when I get the chance to read it.

      Everyone kept saying that I had such a short trip but that’s better than nothing. I’m glad I was able to go home. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m so glad that you got the chance to go home for a few days, Chachic! Especially when the trip means getting to restock your bookshelves a bit. =)

    I didn’t know you and Holly were friends with FS! That’s awesome! I have one of his books on audio, but I have yet to listen to it. I also REALLY want to read Elfland after reading her contribution to Kristen’s Women in SciFi and Fantasy month, so I’d love to hear what you think.

    • I’m glad I got to go home as well, even if it was just for a couple of days. It’s always nice to visit Manila just to touch base with everyone and grab a couple of books and other stuff that I need which are cheaper there (like black out curtains).

      It was Holly who first became Francisco’s friend and then we started exchanging emails. It was so nice of him to send a signed copy of one of his books, especially since I rarely get to go on signings. Me too, I was curious about Elfland because of Kristen’s recommendation and like I said in my reply above, the cover was another reason why I wanted to get a copy. πŸ˜›

  4. Pingback: MT Masking Tape Expo Singapore | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

