Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: Kinokuniya Part 2

12 Comments

Kinokuniya was having a sale last weekend and since my flatmates are members, I went with them to see if I could take advantage of the 20% discount. I know I keep harping on how expensive books are here and I usually rather buy copies in Manila for UK or US editions that are also available there. So when bookstores have sales here, I usually aim for books that I can’t get back home or through Book Depository like Aussie titles. Most of the ones I wanted were out of stock but it made me happy that Paper Chains by Nicola Moriarty was there.

book haul - paper chains

I’ve been wanting to read Nicola Moriarty’s books for a while now and I’m glad I will finally be able to try her writing. I got an extra copy to swap with my friend Maggie of Young Adult Anonymous, I know she’s a fan of Aussie fiction as well.

I was walking around the bookstore, trying to decide what else to get and I was just thinking that it would be great if I could find books similar to Laura Florand’s since I enjoy reading her books so much. Lo and behold, The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan pops up! I knew it was a sign that I should grab a copy. It’s rare for me to buy a book just based on the cover and synopsis because I usually rely on reviews from fellow book bloggers. Let’s see if this lives up to my expectations.

book haul - loveliest chocolate shop in paris

That’s a French-themed postcard made out of washi tape right beside the book. What about the rest of you, have you bought or borrowed any books lately?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

12 thoughts on “Book Haul: Kinokuniya Part 2

  1. Kinokuniya! We have one of those in NY! 🙂 I don’t recall seeing non-Japanese books, though. Actually, maybe I remember a small section, but the featured titles were always Japanese authors with English-translated books, so I never peeked. I somehow doubt we’d have some of the elusive Aussie titles here, but maybe I should look into it…!

    • I had no idea Kinokuniya had branches in the US! It’s one of the major bookstores here in Singapore. They do have a lot of manga and Japanese books but they also have a big collection of English books. Maybe they’re different over there because there are other major bookstores in the States.

  2. The cover for The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris is SUPER CUTE! That book sounds like it would make a lovely read indeed. I hope you end up enjoying it and can’t wait to see your thoughts. (P.S. The postcard is also incredibly adorable!)

  3. So I checked and THE LOVELIEST CHOCOLATE SHOP isn’t out over here till next year! Crazy. Anyway, I really want to try out PAPER CHAINS too – I love those Moriarty sisters.

    • What, really? Maybe it’s not yet available in the States because it’s a UK edition? LOL you’ll probably find it on Paperbackswap. Yeah, those Moriarty sisters are so talented.

  4. I was recently able to chance upon Becoming Bindy Mckenzie by Jaclyn Moriarty at Booksale! (I hope Ghosts of Ashbury might pop up there someday as well.)

    There’s another Moriarty sister! Who is also writer! (Hmm…I wonder if their parents are writers as well.) I’ll be on the look out for your thoughts on this one Chachic. I am curious about how it stands in comparison and contrast to the other two Moriarty ladies whose books you’ve read. 🙂

    • Lucky find! I hope Ghosts of Ashbury High will turn up there. I still haven’t read that one.

      I know, it would be interesting to know what their parents did and how the three of them decided to become writers. They probably help each other along with writing-related problems.

  5. I hope you like Paper Chains, it kind of made me ache, 🙂

    Enjoy your books.

  6. Thank you, Chachic!! 🙂 And the cover for The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris is gorgeous! I hope it lives up to Laura Florand’s standards. A French themed washi tape postcard — could that be more you? 😉

    • I’ll send the package soon, Maggie! As soon as I have a chance to drop by the post office. 🙂 I do hope The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris would turn out to be a good read, I’ll keep you posted. LOL a French-themed washi tape postcard does represent me well.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

