Top Ten Tuesday: Auto-Buy Authors

Top Ten Tuesday2

Look at me, participating in Top Ten Tuesday two weeks in a row. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Tuesday REWIND – pick a past topic you missed or one you want to revisit!” I was bummed when I missed Top Ten Tuesday when the topic was Auto-Buy Authors because I wanted to talk about authors I love. So I’m glad that I get to revisit this topic today. Looking through my list of favorite books, I realize that while I have fallen in love with so many novels, there are only a couple of authors who are auto-buy and auto-read for me. Regardless of what genre they write, these are authors that I get ridiculously excited about. I’ll count down the days, months or even YEARS (I’m looking at you, MWT) until their next novel is released. I’ll pre-order their books and get jealous of other readers who manage to get advance copies. Some are authors I’ve loved for years while others are new discoveries. Here they are, in no particular order:

Megan Whalen Turner

Elizabeth Wein

Robin McKinley

Melina Marchetta

Laini Taylor

Ilona Andrews

Julie James

Sarah Addison Allen

Mina V. Esguerra

Laura Florand

There you have it, folks. My auto-buy authors. I may not have read all of their books, like Robin McKinley’s Deerskin or Laini Taylor’s Days of Blood and Starlight, but I’ve read most of them. And I fully intend to read ALL of their books when I get the chance.

What about you, who are your auto-buy authors? Do we have similar authors in our lists?

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Auto-Buy Authors

  1. I’m right there with you for nearly all of ’em! I’ve never read anything by Melina Marchetta (though I have one of hers on my TBR pile) or Julie James (whom I’ve never heard of; which of hers should I add to my TBR pile?).

    Oh, and Mina V. Esguerra — do you have a recommendation for her?

    And did you know that Robin McKinley has a new one due out in November? Sometimes it seems like everyone knows about things like this, but I only realized yesterday.

    But wait! Patricia McKillip is not on your list? Seriously?

    And how about Patricia Briggs; have you read her Mercy Thompson series? She and Ilona Andrews are my hand’s-down favorites for paranormals.

    • Oh Rachel! You must read Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. I would love to know what you think of it. That’s the book that convinced me that I needed to read more contemporary YA. Before that, I mostly read fantasy. Julie James is an adult contemporary romance author and her books are smart and full of humor. My favorite is Something About You, the first in her FBI/US Attorney series.

      Mina V. Esguerra is my favorite Filipino chick lit author – her books are available in ebook editions internationally. You can grab copies if you’re curious about books set in the Philippines. Start with Fairy Tale Fail. πŸ™‚

      Yes! I’m super excited for the new Robin McKinley to be released this year. I can’t wait to read it. And like I said, I’d be jealous of anyone who gets an advanced copy.

      I think I’ve read two Patricia McKillip novels a few years ago – I remember being attracted to the pretty covers but I didn’t fall in love with them like I did with books written by authors in this list. Maybe I should give them a try again.

      As for Patricia Briggs, I read the first three Mercy Thomspon books and the first Alpha and Omega book but sadly, didn’t love them as much as Kate Daniels. I also tried the first two October Daye books but felt the same way. Haven’t continued reading those series yet but we’ll see…

  2. Our lists are very different surprisingly.. Except Megan Whalen Turner obviously. I have a feeling Elizabeth Wein will be once I read more of her books. I have The Winter Prince and A Coalition of Lions checked out from the library right now.

    I still haven’t started The Chocolate Thief yet. I’m swamped with review books and since I don’t review adult books on my blog I have to wait. I’ll read it this weekend no matter what!

    I did finally get around to reading a Julie James book and enjoyed it. I’ll be reading her others now too.

    • Hmm maybe not so surprising because I know you read a lot of MG, which I only read from time to time? MWT is a given in our lists. Yes to reading more of EWein’s novels! Can’t wait to hear what you think of them. I hope you can borrow the other three books in the series from the library as well.

      Feel free to send me a tweet or anything once you start The Chocolate Thief. πŸ˜› I’m so glad more and more of my blogging buddies are reading Laura Florand’s novels. It’s much more fun when I get to talk about the books that I love with friends.

      What was the Julie James book that you got to read? It’s good that you’re squeezing in adult books in your schedule even if you don’t review them on your blog. It’s nice to mix things up once in a while, right?

      • True I do read way more MG. Sadly my library only has the two E. Wein books I have checked out so I’ll have to track down used copies of the others if I want to read them.

        The Julie James book I read was Something About You. I always hate that I don’t have more time for some adult books, but I won’t review them on the blog since the main purpose of my blog is to have a resource for my students and their parents.

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Auto-Buy Authors | By Singing Light

  4. From your list, I have yet to try Laini, Ilona, Julie, and Laura. The rest I have tried at least once and I agree, they should really be auto-buy authors. Special mention to MWT and E.Wein because they are amazing. Btw, have you read Mckinley’s Sunshine? It’s vampires right?

    • Tin, you have to try all of those authors! I’m having a hard time trying to decide what you should bump up the TBR pile so I’ll just say that you should read all of them. πŸ™‚ I have a feeling you’ll enjoying reading books from all of the authors in my list since we seem to have pretty similar tastes in books.

      Yep, I’ve read Sunshine. It’s not my favorite Robin McKinley novel but it’s way ahead of other vampire novels out there.

  5. Hehe at your “I’m looking at you, MWT.” The ONLY question I had for Greenwillow/Harper-Collins at ALA was whether they knew anything about the next MWT book. They did not.

    We definitely have very similar tastes. I would add Cath Crowley, Jaclyn Moriarty, E. Lockhart, and Rebecca Sparrow to that list. πŸ™‚

    • Maggie, I don’t find it surprising that Greenwillow doesn’t have any news about MWT’s next book. She tends to be secretive about things like that, she doesn’t want to reveal details until the book is actually out. It’s been a couple of years since A Conspiracy of Kings so hopefully, we’ll have some news soon!

      *high five for similar tastes* Oh yes, Graffiti Moon is lovely so I would have to agree with Cath Crowley. Jaclyn Moriarty’s books are enjoyable but sadly, I didn’t love them. Let’s see if I fall in love with A Corner of White. I really need to read Rebecca Sparrow since you’re a big fan of hers.

    • Jellicoe Road was my first Melina Marchetta as well. If you loved that, you’ll probably love Saving Francesca and The Piper’s Son too. I can’t wait for you to read those.

  6. Lol about MWT! And maybe I should’ve included Laini Taylor. I thought about including Stephanie Perkins but I didn’t. Anyhow, great list and commentary. πŸ™‚

    • I included Laini Taylor because I’ve read Blackbringer and Silksinger and really liked those two. Wish she would continue writing that series. Stephanie Perkins is another good choice, can’t wait to read her latest.

  7. Melina Marchetta. OMG. aiting for her books to come out is even harder than it was to wait for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Whenever there is any news on her books, Rachel and I call each other and just squeal over the phone.
    – Annette

    • The three on your list would be Melina Marchetta, Sarah Addison Allen and Laini Taylor? Looks like you’re a fan of beautiful writing, just like I am. πŸ˜€

  8. Pingback: My Favorite Top Ten Topics | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

