Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Books For Rent

10 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

books for rent

There’s this bookstore near the office that allows customers not just to buy books but to borrow them as well. Their books are marked with two prices: the first amount is what you pay for when you get the book and the second is what you’ll get back when you return it. I’m not sure what the formula is for the prices but I think you get about half of what you pay for. So it’s like paying for half the price to read a book that you’re interested in. You can choose to buy brand-new books as well because they have stocks of those. Given how expensive books are in Singapore, this seems like a great idea. But why not borrow books from the library instead? Foreigners only need to pay an annual membership fee while membership for Singaporeans is free. I wonder how strong their business is since the Singapore public library has pretty good selections and there are several branches scattered all over the country. I haven’t borrowed or bought any books from them because I usually get my own copies in Manila or just borrow from the library.

books for rent2

I thought the rest of you would find this concept interesting. It’s first time I’ve encountered it. What do you think about renting books instead of buying them? Have you heard of other establishments that lets readers borrow books for a certain price?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Books For Rent

  1. This is such a strange, but interesting concept. As you sort of mentioned, it’s like a hybrid between a library and a bookstore – which is… interesting? I’m not sure I’d ever get anything from them (unless I couldn’t find it in the library).

    • Same with me, I would probably avail of their services if I didn’t have access to a good public library. Maybe this kind of thing would work in Manila?

  2. Renting?? Gosh..I dunno..I like owning them…FOREVER!! hehe 😉

  3. Oooh, I DO find that interesting. Amazon started doing this (you can sell almost any book back to them for a portion of the price), but I’ve never heard of a brick and mortar store doing this. I’m really curious how they do business-wise as well when books are so expensive and the libraries are easy to get to.

    • I didn’t know that Amazon has started doing this! Do you have to buy the book from Amazon and rent it from them? I keep seeing people reading on the train but it’s obvious that what they’re reading are library books. So I have no idea how well brick and mortar stores are doing here.

      • You buy the books from Amazon, but can sell them back after (physical books only). You don’t have to buy the books from them to sell them though. I’ve sold them some textbooks when I was finished with them. It’s not as high as 50% back though, more like 10-20%.

      • That seems like an interesting concept. I’d probably avail of that service if I was based in the US too. I can use the money that I’ll get to buy new books. 😛

  4. That is so interesting. I saw that on Amazon too but it’s absolutely ridiculous — for one of my books, they offered to buy back a $10 for … $0.50. I was like, You must be out of your mind, Amazon.

    • What! That’s so cheap, you’ll get a better deal if you sell your books in a secondhand bookstore or something like that. I usually just pass mine along to other readers.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

