Where did the weekend go?

Let's blog some shit

It’s Sunday night in our part of the world and I’m about to crash in a few minutes. I was planning to put up some posts this weekend but that didn’t happen since I was busy meeting up with friends and now I’m too tired to stay up to blog. I have half-finished drafts waiting to be posted so let’s see if I can find some time during the week to sit down and work on them Sigh, there really are times when I wish I had more time to blog. Here’s what I just started reading for the next YAckers discussion:

Girl of Fire and Thorns shot

Let me know what you think if you’ve read The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. I’m hoping that I’ll enjoy reading it. Anyway, how was your weekend? Hope you had a nice and relaxing one. Feel free to talk about the book that you’re currently in the middle of.

11 thoughts on “Where did the weekend go?

  1. I really like The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I LOVE The Crown of Embers though. I absolutely can’t wait for The Bitter Kingdom to come out. If she continues the trend of getting better with each one that book is going to be beyond amazing.

    • It’s good to know that you enjoyed reading this one. I’ve seen reviews of it pop up in the blogosphere when it first came out but reviews were mixed so I wasn’t too excited to read it. I saw that Crown of Embers was also available in the library when I borrowed The Girl of Fire and Thorns, maybe I should have grabbed it as well.

    • Another endorsement for this book! Both you and Brandy are getting my hopes up. I’m managing my expectations because I know that other blogging buddies did not enjoy it. Have you read the sequel, Rosie?

  2. I’m reading The Girl of Fire and Thorns soon, as I also have it out from the library. I’ve heard it’s a really great series, and I’m very curious about it, so hopefully it turns out well.

    I’m finishing up the Summer series by Jenny Han now, and it’s making me highly emotional. I really love the way the story is told from the first book until this one – it’s a great contemporary YA!

    • Funny that we both borrowed The Girl of Fire and Thorns from the library at the same time. Let me know what you think of it once you get a chance to start on it. Maybe we can chat about it on Twitter.

      I’ve seen that series by Jenny Han and I believe it also received mixed reviews? I know some bloggers loved it while others thought it was just okay. That’s why I haven’t read it yet.

  3. I thought the second book was amazing–the first one was okay but not my favorite. I’m really looking forward to the third one, though.

      • I liked the first one, but didn’t love it nearly as much as most people. Partly because the characters didn’t grab me, partly because the worldbuilding didn’t quite work. But I did like the second one better.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

