The Chocolate Kiss by Laura Florand

The Chocolate Kiss is the second book in Laura Florand’s Amour Et Chocolat series. Featuring top chocolatiers in Paris, these books focus on hot guys who make delectable desserts. What’s not to like? I loved The Chocolate Thief, the first book in the series, so I dove right into this one after finishing that. The books don’t have to be read in order, they’re standalone stories since they’re about different couples although Cade and Sylvain (the leads in The Chocolate Thief) have cameos in this one. I would like to note that one of my favorite restaurants when I was in college was The Chocolate Kiss Cafe. If I was in Manila, I would have visited the place after reading this book.

Here’s the summary from Laura Florand’s website:

The Chocolate KissWelcome to La Maison des Sorcieres. Where the window display is an enchanted forest of sweets, a collection of conical hats delights the eye and the habituΓ©s nibble chocolate witches from fanciful mismatched china. While in their tiny blue kitchen, Magalie Chaudron and her two aunts stir wishes into bubbling pots of heavenly chocolat chaud.

But no amount of wishing will rid them of interloper Philippe Lyonnais, who has the gall to open one of his world-famous pastry shops right down the street. Philippe’s creations seem to hold a magic of their own, drawing crowds of beautiful women to their little isle amidst the Seine, and tempting even Magalie to venture out of her ivory tower and take a chance, a taste… a kiss.

In case I haven’t mentioned it often enough here on the blog, let me say this again: I love macarons. And the male lead in The Chocolate Kiss makes amazing, world-renowned macarons. Sigh, if only I could grab a bite straight out of the book’s pages. Philippe’s artistic creations seemed not only beautiful but deliciously mouth-watering as well. Same with Magalie’s rich hot chocolate, with wishes stirred in specifically for the person the drink is meant for. Magalie seems to know exactly what a person needs, be it courage to seize the day or strength of spirit to handle life’s burdens. With that idea as well as the name of their tea room, La Maison des Sorcieres (The Witches’ House), the whole novel has a whimsical touch to it that makes it feel more like magic realism instead of contemporary romance. It reminded me of one of my favorite books, Sarah Addison Allen’s Garden Spells. Magalie was a character that I could easily relate to. She loves her little corner of Paris but has a hard time adjusting how the rest of the city makes her feel. So she arms herself with stylish outfits that make her feel stronger about facing the world outside their tea room. Here’s a passage that particularly resonated with me, I hope it’s not too spoilery to share it:

You couldn’t cure loneliness by wallowing in it, up above the world, on an island far removed from everything. She knew that. But she had such a hard time with all the cures. They seemed rough and brusque and brutal, as if they abused her skin with a pot scrubber, things like trying to go out with men she barely knew, or dancing in Paris nightclubs, or hanging out with friends in bars over in that world past the banks of the river.

She had been something of a party creature in her high schools, still was one to dance all night at New Year’s celebrations or weddings when she went back to Provence, but there was something harsher about dancing here, forcing herself into a mass of people, stranger among strangers. Occasionally, one of her friends from the university, the longest continuous friendship she had ever had, could talk her into it. But it was much more tempting to curl up with a book under her thick white comforter.

Still, sometimes after she curled up, she regretted her lack of courage and felt bleakly lonely.

It was important to have a really good book.

Yes, it’s really important to have a good book. The Chocolate Kiss can definitely be classified as one of those good books. I wouldn’t have minded giving up a night out with friends to stay in and read this novel. In fact, I did stay up later than usual to finish reading this, even though I had to get up early for work the next day. I thought the romance between Magalie and Philippe was done very well, there was obvious attraction between them that they kept denying so the tension just built up. I thought it was funny how they kept tempting each other with their specialties – Philippe with his macarons and Magalie with her hot chocolate – and how they both refuse to try and sample each other’s work even though everyone else is raving about them. It’s a symbol of how they can’t let the other person gain the upper hand by admitting that they even want a taste. And when they finally give in? Well, you just have to read the book and find out. Similar to The Chocolate Thief, I really enjoyed reading about the secondary characters in this story. I like how the romance isn’t just about the two leads but also about the people important in their lives as well as the work that they’re passionate about. Another excellent installment in Laura Florand’s romantic chocolate series. I think it’s pretty much a given that I’m excited to read The Chocolate Touch. Counting down the weeks until it becomes available.

Bakerzin macarons

Other reviews:
A Girl, Books and Other Things
Smexy Books
Dear Author
Nooks & Crannies

23 thoughts on “The Chocolate Kiss by Laura Florand

    • Me too, can’t wait for the next book in the series! I heard that it’s going to be available in NetGalley before the release date so I hope that happens soon.

    • LOL Angie, I had to mention that cafe somewhere! I didn’t know where else I could squeeze it in. πŸ˜› It makes me happy that you’re interested in reading Laura Florand’s books. I will be keeping my fingers crossed that you’ll like them (because if you do, then you’ll probaly bibliovangelize them).

  1. Hot chocolate AND macarons AND Paris? SIGN ME UP. As I’ve said multiple times, this is a series I’m very interested in and have been ever since it first popped up on your blog. I definitely hope that, when I have the money, I’ll be able to pick up a copy! It sounds delectable, after all.

    • Yep, this book will make you hungry! Ideally, read it when you have an afternoon or evening free, with macarons and hot chocolate beside you. πŸ˜› I’m excited for you to read these, Alexa. Hope you enjoy reading them.

    • Thanks for dropping by to comment on this review! Glad it convinced you to start on the series. πŸ™‚ It’s a lovely series that deserves to get more attention from readers.

    • I saw your review and realized that you had some problems with the book. It’s good that you’re still curious about the other books in the series though! Have you read The Chocolate Thief yet?

  2. Macarons! I passed by a patisserie next to my independent bookstore and saw a gorgeous macaron display. I may need to read this book there based on your review. Not that I’m complaining… πŸ™‚

    • There’s a patiserrie with macarons beside the indie bookstore that you go to? Wow, if I had access to a place like that, I’d probably hang out there all the time. That would be the perfect location for you to read Laura Florand’s books. πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds delicious, and several other puns. Can’t wait to read it. Maybe I can catch up in time for when the third is available in Netgalley.

  4. Pingback: All’s Fair in Love and Chocolate by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Novel Gossip: The Chocolate Rose by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Favorite Book Covers Of Books I’ve Read | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: 2013 ArmchairBEA Introduction | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: The Chocolate Touch by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013 | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Europe 2014: Paris Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: Amour et Florand: How did you discover Laura’s books? | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: Influenced by a Book: Chocolat Chaud et Macarons | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

