Meeting Mina in Singapore

Mina V. Esguerra, author of some of my favorite Filipino fiction novels, is here in Singapore for the weekend. She’s on vacation with her family and I was glad that she made time to meet up with me. We decided to meet in front of the National Library because their hotel was near there:

Central Public Library

It was my first time to visit the National Library and I had to go inside to return (unread) books. Of course, I couldn’t resist borrowing some of the titles that I’ve been wanting to read:

Book Haul March 28

Blame It On Paris by Laura Florand
Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson
The Secret of Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson
The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson (our next YAckers read)

Let’s see if I can read all of these before they’re due. I really should visit the National Library more often! They have better stocks that the library near our flat. We had dinner at the nearby mall (sorry, no pictures of our Japanese dinner and cupcakes for dessert) and here’s Little Boss, Mina and me:

With Mina and Little Boss

I’m so glad I got to see you while you’re here, Mina! Had fun chatting with you and M. Hope you enjoy your vacation in Singapore. πŸ˜€

If you haven’t read any of Mina’s books, feel free to check out my reviews:
Fairy Tale Fail
Interim Goddess of Love, Queen of the Clueless
My Imaginary Ex, Love Your Frenemies
No Strings Attached, That Kind of Guy

You can even get Smashwords discount coupons through this link.

4 thoughts on “Meeting Mina in Singapore

  1. Yay, you found Blame it on Paris! And you got the Jodi Lynn Anderson books. I’m really curious to see what you think of those. The collection at the National does looks great.

    How fun that you got to meet up with Mina in Singapore! It’s nice that it isn’t so far away from Manila that old friends can’t come to visit. πŸ™‚ Her daughter is adorable.

    • Holly, I hope I get to read all of the books that I borrowed! Otherwise, I’d have to go to the National library to borrow them again.

      Yep, I’ve been lucky in that sense. So many friends get to visit Singapore because of budget flights. This year, I’ve met up with at least one friend from Manila each month. πŸ˜€

    • I’ve heard good things about The Girl of Fire and Thorns (also saw the sequel in the library) so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we’ll both enjoy reading it! πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

