The Chocolate Thief by Laura Florand

I have to thank my good friend Michelle for introducing me to what has become one of my favorite contemporary romance series. I had a feeling that I would enjoy reading Laura Florand’s novels after my copies arrived and I saw how pretty they were. I’m pleased to report that I wasn’t disappointed.

Here’s the summary from Laura Florand’s website:

The Chocolate ThiefPARIS
Breathtakingly beautiful, the City of Light seduces the senses, its cobbled streets thrumming with possibility. For American Cade Corey, it’s a dream come true, if only she can get one infuriating French chocolatier to sign on the dotted line…

CHOCOLATE

Melting, yielding yet firm, exotic, its secrets are intimately known to Sylvain Marquis. But turn them over to a brash American waving a fistful of dollars? Jamais. Not unless there is something much more delectable on the table …

STOLEN PLEASURE

Whether confections taken from a locked shop or kisses in the dark, is there anything sweeter?

I LOVE desserts and I’m a big fan of chocolate. Some of my favorites are dark chocolate with nuts, mint chocolate and truffles. I know it’s not a healthy habit but I have chocolate almost everyday. I eat chocolate to cheer me up when I’m feeling a little low and I also eat chocolate to celebrate when something good happens. I feel like there’s always an excuse for me to indulge in chocolate. So imagine my delight at discovering that both the main characters in The Chocolate Thief are fellow chocolate-lovers. Cade is the heiress of Corey Chocolate, one of the largest chocolate corporations in the world (I think the surname Corey is a nod to Hershey). While Sylvain is one of the top chocolatiers in Paris. I wish I could afford to try chocolates that are as good as Sylvain’s masterpieces but I’m afraid they’re probably too expensive for me. I did find Sylvain’s reasons for choosing to work with chocolates intriguing:

He had been a gangly, awkward adolescent with shaggy hair, so it was a good thing he had discovered very early in his teenage years What Women Wanted.

Chocolat. If you wanted to lure a woman who wouldn’t otherwise have looked twice at you, good chocolate was better than a love potion.

Add the fact that the novel is set in Paris, a beautiful, romantic city that I’ve always wanted to visit and I’m one happy reader. We have here a chocolate-filled take of a love-hate relationship. Both of them love chocolate but in different ways. Cade is proud of her family’s heritage and how their products bring happiness to millions of people. She’s all about making chocolate more accessible to people. While Sylvain looks down on mass-produced chocolate and believes that creating chocolate is a fine art form. What I loved about these two characters is how passionate they both are about what they do. Cade knows that people rely on her and their company is responsible for providing much-needed jobs. Sylvain pours so much of himself in what he does that he takes total ownership of his creations, to the point that he feels that people are tasting a part of him whenever they devour his chocolates. This is why he takes so much pride in the fact that Cade can’t get enough of his work, which she doesn’t want to openly admit so she resorts to stealing them. I can certainly appreciate a girl resorting to thieving for the sake of the finest chocolate that she’s ever tasted. I like how the reader is given a full understanding of the characters’ background, how and why they became who they are when we meet them. I liked Cade and Sylvain’s warm interactions with their family and friends. The Chocolate Thief is a deliciously tempting work of fiction, I gobbled it up in just two days. I would have done it in one sitting if I didn’t have to go to work. Highly recommended for fans of chocolate, novels set in Paris and contemporary romance. Just make sure you have some chocolate on hand when you read this. I seriously cannot wait for the third book in the series, The Chocolate Touch, to be released in July. It will be about Cade’s sister and Sylvain’s rival.

On a side note, I’m delighted to put up a post on my birthday about a book that I loved. I wish I could do that every year. Yesterday, my lovely co-workers got me this yummy chocolate cake called Othello:

Glace birthday cake 2013

Happy 29th of March! πŸ˜€

Other reviews:
Rachel Neumeier
Angieville
Smexy Books

33 thoughts on “The Chocolate Thief by Laura Florand

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CHACHIC!! I hope you get chocolate everyday this year!

    This reminds me of the movies Chocolat and Like Water for Chocolate. I absolutely love this cover and can’t wait to start this book. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Maggie! I would love to get chocolate everyday this year. Hmm you made me think of whether I had any chocolate today. I did – bao buns with chocolate and custard and then dark hot chocolate after.

      You know I’ve never read Chocolat or Like Water for Chocolate. I should probably check them out. πŸ™‚ I’ve seen the Chocolate movie and really liked it.

  2. ” I know it’s not a healthy habit but I have chocolate almost everyday. I eat chocolate to cheer me up when I’m feeling a little low and I also eat chocolate to celebrate when something good happens. I feel like there’s always an excuse for me to indulge in chocolate.”

    Me, too! Happy birthday, Chachic ^^. And it is a great joy to write about a great book, but extra great on a birthday, true ^^

    • Thanks, Estara! I really had fun talking about The Chocolate Thief on my birthday. Hope you enjoy reading The Chocolate Kiss when you get the chance to do so.

  3. This sounds like something I’m going to like, too. πŸ˜€ And it sounds perfect for my romance novel research. Hee. Thanks for the review, Chachic! And happy birthday! πŸ™‚

    • You have romance class homework? πŸ˜› Would love for you to read this, I’m curious what you’ll think of the book. Will keep my fingers crossed that you’ll enjoy it just as much as I did.

      March is a good month for birthday, isn’t it? Looks like you had fun celebrating your birthday too. πŸ™‚

  4. Awww, happy birthday to you!

    While I don’t really LOVE chocolate per se, I love books about food and about people who love food. And books set in non-American places. SO The Chocolate Thief sounds superb!

    • Thank you, April!

      How can you not love chocolate? What’s your favorite dessert then? πŸ™‚ I love reading books about people who love food because I can totally relate to them. Yep, loved the French setting of this one as well.

    • Thanks, Alex! Have you read this one or only The Chocolate Kiss? Saw your review for that, I’m done reading that as well and I hope I can sit down and write my review for it soon.

  5. So you love chocolates, and you love thieves (well, in literature, at least :D) This book screams you. Hee. The last time I read anything that made me hungry was Garden Spells. This really looks like a deliciously chocolatey read.

    And…..Happy Birthday Chachic! *throws confetti* πŸ˜€ (The Othello cake looks beautiful. Is it all chocolate inside?)

    • Yep, chocolates + thieves in fiction = a Chachic book. Tin, the next book in this series, The Chocolate Kiss, reminded me of Garden Spells. I’m planning to mention that in my review. So you’ll probably enjoy reading this series since you liked Sarah Addison Allen.

      Thank you! The Othello has layers (should have taken a pic) and what I love about it is it’s not too sweet or too heavy, just light enough to enjoy with a cup of mocha. πŸ˜€

  6. SO very happy to hear that you loved these books. They were such fun to read. Who doesn’t love paris, and chocolate and a good romance?

    Also! Happy Birthday!! Hopefully you had a good one πŸ™‚

    • Michelle, thank YOU so much for recommending Laura Florand! I’m so glad I discovered a new author to love. I gobbled up her books one right after the other. I seriously can’t wait for The Chocolate Touch. πŸ™‚

      Yep, had a great birthday weekend! It was my first birthday spent in Singapore. πŸ˜€

  7. Pingback: The Chocolate Kiss by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: All’s Fair in Love and Chocolate by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light and Fun | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Novel Gossip: The Chocolate Rose by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: 2013 ArmchairBEA Introduction | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: The Chocolate Touch by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  13. Pingback: Foodie Reads | Chachic's Book Nook

  14. Pingback: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013 | Chachic's Book Nook

  15. Pingback: Europe 2014: Paris Update | Chachic's Book Nook

  16. Pingback: Snapshot From a Book: The Chocolate Thief | Chachic's Book Nook

  17. Pingback: Amour et Florand: How did you discover Laura’s books? | Chachic's Book Nook

  18. Pingback: Cover Reveal: All For You by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

  19. Pingback: Cover Reveal: A Crown of Bitter Orange by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

