Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Blame it on Paris

3 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

The other day, I featured the two Laura Florand books that I have on a Shoot That Book post. I’ve finished reading The Chocolate Thief since then and I just started on The Chocolate Kiss. I now want ALL of Laura Florand’s other novels and novellas. This is the second week that I’ve talked about wanting the rest of an author’s back list after enjoying one of her books. I dropped by two bookstores yesterday because they were having sales but unfortunately, this wasn’t available. I didn’t end up getting anything because the books were still expensive even with discounts.

Here’s the summary of Blame it on Paris from Goodreads:

Blame it on ParisLaura has spent most of her adult life avoiding serious relationships, flitting around the world, and keeping her romantic expectations comfortably low. The last thing she wants is to have her globe-trotting ways curtailed by a messy emotional entanglement. As far as she’s concerned, chocolate is just as satisfying as true love–and a lot less complicated.

So how, in the name of all that is romantic, has she managed to get involved with a dangerously charming Frenchman named Sébastien? And only weeks before she’s scheduled to leave Paris for good?
Everyone knows that Frenchmen are chain-smoking, manic-depressive, faithless, male chauvinistic, perfectionist snobs. What’s worse, they live in France.

The cultural differences alone are enough to kill any relationship, even if Laura wanted one. She’s from small-town Georgia. He’s a sophisticated Parisian. They go together like grits and escargot.

But Sébastien isn’t just any Frenchman. He’s a gorgeous, sweet, sexy, graphic artist who seems to find Laura adorable for reasons she can’t begin to comprehend. As the days slip by, she’s finding it harder and harder to say adieu.
Unless she comes to her senses soon, she could end up ruining her life with a beautiful romance…

I’m also interested in Laura Florand’s novella, Turning Up the Heat:

Turning Up the Heat

And I also want the Kiss the Bride anthology just because Laura has a novella in it:

Kiss the Bride

I hope I find the time to write down a review for The Chocolate Thief soon. What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

3 thoughts on “Want Books: Blame it on Paris

  1. Paris? You just said the magic word. I looked up her bio after seeing this and she teaches French at Duke University! I’m such a snob when it comes to books set in France — I want to know that the author is legitimate and/or did extensive research. Now I’ll be hunting down Laura Florand’s books too. Thanks, Chachic! 🙂

    • I know, I was pretty amazed when I found out that she’s a lecturer at Duke too. Romance Studies sounds so interesting, doesn’t it? I think it would have been fun to major in that. I hope her books live up to your expectations. What are some of the books set in Paris that you’ve really liked? I should probably check them out.

  2. Pingback: Meeting Mina in Singapore | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

