Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Laura Florand’s Chocolate Series

18 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

My good friend Michelle of See Michelle Read recommended Laura Florand’s contemporary romance novels when I met up with her a few weeks ago. I hadn’t heard of this author before but was immediately curious when Michelle mentioned that the books are all about chocolate, romance and Paris. What’s not to like? Fortunately, I was able to order copies of The Chocolate Thief and The Chocolate Kiss before flying back to Singapore. I’m still in the middle of The Chocolate Thief and thoroughly enjoying this decadent read. Since I think the covers for both novels are pretty, I wanted to feature them here on the blog. I like how the two covers match each other:

Laura Florand1

The iconic Eiffel Tower is included in The Chocolate Thief’s cover to represent the setting:

Laura Florand2

I like the details of the two covers – how one woman is (almost) holding a bag of chocolates and the other a stack of macarons (yep, another favorite dessert aside from chocolates):

Laura Florand3

And of course, I had to include a snapshot of the French word for chocolate:

Laura Florand_chocolat

Lovely covers, don’t you think? I always like covers when they fit the story within the book. It kind of makes me sad that the third book in the series doesn’t match these two:

The Chocolate Touch

I’m still excited to read it though! Have you read Laura Florand’s novels? Would love to hear what you think of them if you have.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Laura Florand’s Chocolate Series

  1. Awww. That bums me out. I liked the other covers better even though The Chocolate Touch one is adorable.

    I love this series.

    • Yeah, the first two covers are cute and they go with the story (well, I still have to read The Chocolate Kiss). Too bad they changed the design.

      I’ve only read the first book and I’m now a fan too!

  2. I also recently discovered Laura’s books and after 2 weeks, I have read them all 🙂 She is a marvelous writer and her themes and characters are delicious!

    • It only took me two days to finish The Chocolate Thief, I hope I can review it soon. I want to read the rest of her books as well! I only have a copy of The Chocolate Kiss so I need to get the others. I agree, Laura Florand has a way with words.

  3. I have not heard of Laura Florand but you’ve got me curious and I will certainly check them out now!

  4. I love your pictures!!
    🙂 and I would like for these books to be into movies actually, they sound like they could make really good romantic comedies. I have only read one, though.

  5. The covers of these are really cute – I’m a big fan of silhouettes in artwork!

  6. Pingback: Want Books: Blame in on Paris | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. You already know that I’m extremely curious about these books. They sound absolutely decadent 🙂

  8. The first two covers are so fun and flirty and French. I haven’t heard of these books before you mentioned them but I will definitely be checking them out!

    • I’m so glad you’re interested in these novels, Maggie! Would love to know what you think of them. The covers are pretty, aren’t they? Sometimes I’d just pause while reading so I could admire the details.

  9. I picked up The Chocolate Thief as an ARC on a whim a while back, but haven’t gotten around to reading it. (Can I read it without reading the first one first??) I think I need to. Especially since she has a way with words… (and chocolate!)

    • I didn’t even know The Chocolate Thief was available as an ARC before. That’s the first in the series so you can start one that. Although both books are standalones, the couple in The Chocolate Thief just have cameos in The Chocolate Kiss. Let me know what you think when you get to read The Chocolate Thief! 🙂

  10. Pingback: The Chocolate Thief by Laura Florand | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

