Want Books: Peaches

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I just finished reading the YAckers book for this month, Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson. It’s such a lovely novel and I’m looking forward to YAcking it. Anyway, I enjoyed my first taste of Jodi Lynn Anderson’s writing so much that I now want to read her other books. Peaches is a contemporary YA novel and the first in a trilogy. The next time I visit the library, I’ll look for a copy of this.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

PeachesPeaches combines three unforgettable heroines who have nothing in common but the troubles that have gotten them sentenced to a summer of peach picking at a Georgia orchard.

Leeda is a debutante dating wrong-side-of-the-tracks Rex.

Murphy, the wildest girl in Bridgewater, likes whichever side Rex is on.

Birdie is a dreamer whose passion for Girl Scout cookies is matched only by her love for a boy named Enrico.

I checked in Goodreads and I didn’t see any reviews about this book from my blog friends so I would be grateful if you’ve read this and you could let me know what you think of it. I’m hoping it will be just as good as Tiger Lily. What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist? Do you become curious about an author’s other novels when you finish one of his or her books and you end up liking it?

16 thoughts on “Want Books: Peaches

  1. I’ve been curious about Peaches now too, Chachic! I actually got a copy when it was a Kindle deal a while back, so I own it, but you know me and actually picking up contemporary reads–I’m terrible about it. I really enjoyed Tiger Lily though, so I’m certainly going to be reading it!

    • Oh I’m sorry that I missed the Kindle deal for this. How much was it? LOL Heidi, I think you just need to discover more contemporary novels to love so you’ll be encouraged to try the genre regularly.

      • I actually think it was a freebie! It was probably about the time Tiger Lily was being released as a promotional thing.

        I do just need to read more contemporary that I love–I think I get scared off by a lot of it because they’re either fluffy or issue books.

      • It was a freebie? Now I really feel bad that I missed it! Oh well, maybe there will be another promo later on.

        What are some of the contemps that you love? I’ll try and think of similar titles to encourage you to read more. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve read it and it was a while ago! They’ve made new covers for the paperbacks then o.O

    I liked the first book, and I remember reading the sequel. It has a similar vibe a la Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants but…*looks around* I found it a bit better.

    • Yeah, I saw the old cover and this one looks a lot better than that. Oh you enjoyed reading this? That’s good then. I don’t think I ever read the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants but I watched the movies and liked those. πŸ˜› I liked that Rory Gilmore was in it.

  3. Will you look at that adorable book cover. And the characters’ unusual (southern?) names. (It reminds me a bit of another book that I came across your blog. In Honor by Jess Kirby. The one with the girl in a dress and boots?) I do love reading anything set in the South. Tiger Lily is on my wishlist so maybe I need to start with that one first though. πŸ™‚

    • Yep, I remember In Honor and I enjoyed reading that but found it a little too short. I always remember it whenever I wear a dress with boots though. πŸ˜› Tin, you should definitely read Tiger Lily, I have a feeling you’ll like it as well.

  4. oh! i’ve never even heard of this book for some reason?

    i still have to read tiger lily and i just realised my library here has it. hopefully i’ll get a chance to read it soon

    x

    • I hadn’t heard of this either until I looked up Jodi Lynn Anderson’s other novels. Oh that’s good that your library has a copy of Tiger Lily! I hope you get to read it soon, Nomes. Let me know what you think when you get the chance to do so.

  5. Pingback: Want Books: Blame in on Paris | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Meeting Mina in Singapore | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

