2013 California Book Haul

I was pretty excited by the fact that books are a lot more affordable in the States than in Singapore. Sometimes, books are even cheaper than their list prices when you order them off Amazon. I visited Barnes and Noble several times but didn’t get anything because I realized I would save more if I got them from Amazon. I had such a hard time deciding which books to get but finally narrowed it down to the following:

2013 California Book Haul

Star Crossed by Jennifer Echols
The Chocolate Thief by Laura Florand
The Chocolate Kiss by Laura Florand
House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier
Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery

I look forward to trying out Jennifer Echols’ adult novel, I hope it’s just as good as her YA books. The Laura Florand books were recommended by Michelle when we met up. I wanted to get a fantasy book in this stash and I’ve heard good things about House of Shadows so that made me curious. Eleanor & Park was a no-brainer given how much I enjoyed Attachments, I don’t have matching editions for these two but that doesn’t really matter. I’ve been looking for a copy of The Blue Castle for AGES but I was kind of disappointed when I saw that this edition isn’t a proper paperback – it looks kind of like a textbook.

These three I got during my meet ups with Maggie and Michelle:

2013 California Book Haul2

The Reece Malcolm List by Amy Spalding
Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr
The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty

Last but not the least, guess who walked into a grocery store and came out with a book? I couldn’t resist when I saw The Best Man by Kristan Higgins.

2013 California Book Haul3

I think this is a pretty good haul, I didn’t have to worry about going beyond my luggage limit. I would have loved to get more but I had to be practical about the cost and how I’ll take these back to Singapore. I’m excited to read all of these!

24 thoughts on “2013 California Book Haul

  1. Whereabouts in Cali? Are you still there? If so, email me & if you’re close enough maybe we can meet. –I shop the bargain bin when I go to B&N cuz you can get cheaper books elsewhere but I love going there ..surrounded by all those pretty books!! πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Jinky, I was in Southern California. I’m back in Singapore now though. I’m sorry I didn’t get to reply to your comment until now because for some reason, it was in the spam folder.

  2. I’m excited for the new Echols book too! And I love The Blue Castle, even though I haven’t read it in years. I really liked Eleanor & Park, but I never completely and utterly fell in love with it. House of Shadows is gorgeous, IMO, but then I like Neumeier’s books in general.

    • I was pleasantly surprised to discover that she wrote an adult romance! The Blue Castle is a classic so I’ve always been curious about it, I just wish I found a better edition. Aww really? Sorry to hear that you didn’t love Eleanor and Park, I’m pretty excited to read that. I didn’t love The City in the Lake but I’m hoping I’ll like House of Shadows more.

      • I liked Eleanor and Park a lot, but I’m comparing it, probably unfairly, to re-reading Melina Marchetta. It’s a difference between reading and thinking, “I’m liking this book!” and not even thinking because you’re so immersed in reading.

    • Alexa, they’re both contemporary romance novels that were recommended by my friend Michelle. I’m also pretty curious about them since I’m a BIG FAN of chocolate. I think I bought as many chocolates as books during my vacation.

    • I just saw your review of Attachments and I’m so glad you loved it. Really looking forward to reading Eleanor and Park as well, I’m hoping I’ll enjoy reading it just as much as the first Rainbow Rowell book that I read. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, that’s too bad about The Blue Castle. If it makes you feel any better there isn’t really a great cover for it. The other paperback cover is just 80s looking. I’m interested in hearing what you think of all of these, especially the Florand books, Reese Malcolm, Story of a Girl (because I’m a new SZ fan but haven’t read it yet), and E&P of course! Which one are you going to read first or are reading now??

    After not liking the one Neuemeier book we both read (too lazy to look it up), I’ve been wary of picking anything else up.

    Did you get The Best Man at a grocery store in LA?

    • I have no idea why they don’t reprint The Blue Castle in better editions. All of her other books are available in various covers. I’m excited for the Florand books, Reece Malcolm and E&P as well! I grabbed Story of a Girl because I haven’t read any of Sara Zarr’s novels yet. I was even tempted to include How to Save a Life in my Amazon order but I already had too many contemps. I’m planninng to read Reece Malcolm next!

      It was The City in the Lake, I think? Hopefully, I’ll have a better reaction to House of Shadows. The Floating Islands look good too.

      I got The Best Man at Albertsons, when we stopped to buy snacks on the way to Yosemite. πŸ™‚ I noticed that they had a lot of romances in there but no Julie James. They should change that.

  4. Yeah, I always forget that books are so much cheaper in the US than they are elsewhere in the world. Looks like a nice, yet still manageable, stack you picked up!

    • Are they also expensive in Shanghai? Books are actually cheaper in Manila, sometimes even cheaper than the USD list prices on the covers. Yep, I’m glad I was able to reign myself in.

  5. I still say that’s quite the haul, Chachic!! Some fantastic ones too. I’ve never read The Blue Castle, but as a Montgomery fan of course I’m interested. I really liked House of Shadows, I hope you do as well! I’m so glad you were able to get some books for cheaper than you would have gotten them in Singapore.

    • You should definitely read The Blue Castle if you’re a Montgomery fan! That book has been on my wishlist for YEARS. I remember you were the one who convinced me to read House of the Shadows, I really hope I like it too. I really don’t understand why books are much more expensive here in Singapore than in Manila or in the States. I think books here are in the same price range as Aussie books.

  6. i am looking forward to the new kristan higgins πŸ™‚

    i also got star crossed (am reading it currently, but not loving it, which is a bit disappointing :/ hopefully it will pick up. I am halfway through)

    i love the reece malcolm lilst and i am pretty certain you will too x

    • Nomes, will let you know what I think of The Best Man when I get the chance to read it!

      Aww really, Star Crossed is a bit disappointing? I was debating on whether I should start on that or Laura Florand’s The Chocolate Thief. I went for the latter since I haven’t read anything by that author.

      Just finished reading The Reece Malcolm list and really enjoyed it! I hope I can review it soon.

  7. Pingback: Separation Anxiety | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Making the Move – Part II | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

