Chachic's Book Nook

Blogger Meet Up: Michelle of See Michelle Read

32 Comments

Sorry for the lack of posts the past few days, I’ve been busy getting together and catching up with family here in Southern California. My cousin had a lovely wedding last Friday and I’m so glad I was able to attend that special day. Anyway, I wanted to interrupt my blogging silence to let you all know about something that I’ve been waiting for since I started my blog a few years ago: I finally met one of my US blogging buddies in person! Before flying to the States, I sent an email to my good friend Michelle of See Michelle Read if it would be possible for us to meet up. She mentioned that she was about two hours away from where I would be but that she was willing to make the drive down. I’m thankful that she wanted to do that and we got to hang out today:

with Michelle of See Michelle Read

Michelle is just so nice – as if it wasn’t enough that she made arrangements to meet up with me, she also gave me this package (which includes a copy of The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty, one of the books in my wishlist. I though it wasn’t available in the US but she got a copy through PaperpackSwap):

gift bag from Michelle

We had lunch at Chick-fil-A because my cousins kept saying that I had to try that place. We kept talking about books that we’ve recently read, what are the ones that we loved and the ones that we thought were just okay. We also talked about books and authors that were all-time favorites. We gave each other updates on our lives outside of blogging and reading, which was nice because it made me feel like I got to know her better.

Chik-fil-A

After lunch, we dropped by Barnes and Noble, where we kept pointing at books that we’ve read to ask “Hey, have you read this? What do you think of it?” We didn’t end up buying anything there because they didn’t have the books that we wanted.

Barnes and Noble

Barnes and Noble Teens

We did get to buy some bargain books at the nearby Goodwill:

image

I had such a great time with Michelle. I told her that it felt a bit surreal to finally meet her in person. We both talked about how difficult it is to explain to other people how you develop friendships through the internet. I can’t even remember when I first started talking to Michelle online, I just know that we’ve known each other for years. Thanks again for a wonderful day, Michelle! I know I keep saying this but I wish I could go around the US and meet up with all of my American blogging buddies.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

32 thoughts on “Blogger Meet Up: Michelle of See Michelle Read

  1. Love used book stores … it always makes me think what compelled the individual to give up that particular book …

  2. What an awesome meet up! I know exactly the conversation you had because when a blogger was with me last week, we spent so much time in bookstores, chatting about books! Can’t wait for your recap on your meet up with Maggie xox

    • Maggie told me about your meet up with Michelle! Isn’t it funny that we met up with two bloggers with the same name? I just saw your recap about it and looks like you had a great time with her. I know what you mean, we just kept chatting about books when I met up with both Michelle and Maggie. It felt like we couldn’t run out of things to talk about.

  3. Or meeting up with your outside-of-the-US blogging buddies in outside-of-the-US spots. 😛

  4. This is awesome. And inspiring. I hope to one day get the opportunity to meet Donna. In my head we meet when she catches me egging her house or burning a bag of dog poo at her front door. Then there will be a big Jerry Springer-esque moment when we both beat up her neighbor for calling the cops on me. Then we’ll go drinking.

  5. Great recap Chachic! I had so much fun with you – thanks again for hanging out with me 🙂

    • Thanks again for driving down to meet up with me! I had a great time with you and I look forward to reading The Hypnotist’s Love Story. 🙂 We should do another readalong soon. Also, I wish Chick-fil-A had branches in Singapore.

  6. I wish you could come to NYC so we could hang out! It’s always fun for me to meet blogger friends in real life, and have in-person conversations with them. You totally get to know them better 🙂 Glad you had fun!

    • Alexa, like we discussed on Twitter, I think it might be easier for us to meet up when we’re both in Manila. 🙂 I would love to go visit NYC but it’s difficult since I don’t have anyone to stay with over there.

  7. Aw, one day you must visit me in NY. *puppy eyes*.

    This looks like a fun trip! Glad you had fun, congrats to your cousin, and man do I wish I was in CA right now (I think there’s a snowstorm due here later today).

    • LOL you said the same thing as Alexa in the comment above! Like I said, would love to visit NYC but that will only happen if I find someone to stay with because hotels are probably really expensive.

      It was a really good trip although it felt too short and I was sick the entire time I was there. Still not feeling great right now but I’m hoping I’ll get to rest this weekend. How’s the weather like over there? Hope it isn’t too crazy. I don’t think I can survive a snowstorm. I already found Yosemite in winter super cold.

      • Aw, sucks you were sick! It was rainy yesterday but sunny and nice today (like almost 50 F?) over here. I actually did my daily walk at work outside. So I think Spring is coming. 🙂

      • I’m slowly getting better. I’m hoping I’ll get a lot of rest this weekend. 50 is already warm for you? We usually have 80-90 degree weather here in Singapore or in Manila. I like 50-60, I think that’s cool enough that you don’t get all sweaty.

  8. Looks like fun! Someday I hope you make it further east. My kids and I eat at Chik-Fil-A all the time. They are the only fast food restaurant we all like and they actually keep their play areas clean.

    • I saw the play area! Good to know that your kids like the place and that they can make use of the play area whenever you go. I kind of wish I had the chance to go to Chik-fil-A more than once but there wasn’t enough time. I didn’t even get to drop by Wing Stop, which is another fast food place that I like. Those two and In N Out are the good ones, I think.

  9. Two of my favorite bloggers together at last. *happy*

  10. What fun! Let me know if you ever make it to New England…

  11. Pingback: Blogger Meet Up: Maggie of Young Adult Anonymous | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. I’m SO happy that you got the opportunity to hang out together, Chachic! It IS totally surreal to meet Internet friends in real life, but also wonderful. You know, I’ve never eaten at Chik-Fil-A either…I think they have them here, but I didn’t grow up with them/never see them in my neighborhood, so I haven’t gone. Love that you girls went bargain book shopping, and Michelle is awesome for driving down/bringing you goodies. I hope that you’re feeling better, and enjoy the rest of your trip!

    • Heidi, you should try Chick-fil-A if it’s available in your area! I really liked their chicken nuggets and how they have so many different kinds of sauces/dips.

      It takes a while for me to get better whenever I get sick, especially since I kept going out while I was in the States. I’m taking meds now so I hope these will help in making me feel better. I’m planning to take it easy this weekend.

      It was really nice of Michelle to drive down AND to give gifts. We tried looking for more used bookstores in the area but weren’t able to find any. I’m glad we got to visit B&N and Goodwill though.

  13. Pingback: 2013 California Book Haul | Chachic's Book Nook

  14. I love all these posts, chachic.

    looks like you had the best time.

    i would love to go to america one day, and of course, meet up with bloggery friends x

    • Nomes, I had a really great time! I got to hang out with family and some friends as well so that’s a good thing. I wish I had more vacation days so I could have stayed longer but oh well, I need to work so I’d have money to buy more books. 😛

  15. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Laura Florand’s Chocolate Series | Chachic's Book Nook

  16. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Chachic's Book Nook

  17. Pingback: Amour et Florand: How did you discover Laura’s books? | Chachic's Book Nook

  18. Pingback: Blogger Meet Up: Liyana of Liyaland | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

