Chachic's Book Nook

The Art of the Brick by Nathan Sawaya

13 Comments

Last Friday, I went with a friend to The Art of the Brick exhibit at the ArtScience Museum in Marina Bay Sands. I heard about this Lego exhibit from a co-worker – I found it interesting because the artist, Nathan Sawaya, was a lawyer before and then he decided to quit to become a full-time Lego artist. Isn’t it great that he was able to do that? I’m sure most of us will be able to relate because it would be amazing if we can find a job based on what we’re passionate about (I’m talking about books, of course). Anyway, I thought it would be a good idea to share his artwork. Some of the pictures are a bit blurry because I was just using my phone camera and flash photography wasn’t allowed inside. We were just thankful that they allowed us to take pictures so we could document the experience.

Yellow

Yellow

Peaces

Peaces

Hands

Hands (reminds me of certain hand-less favorite characters)

An Artist's View

An Artist’s View

Writer

Writer

Dinosaur Skeleton

Dinosaur Skeleton

Everlasting

Everlasting

ArtScience Museum

ArtScience Museum (the building in Singapore where the exhibit was shown)

There were a lot more pieces there but these were the ones that I really liked. I don’t want to post too many pictures and ruin the experience to those planning to see the show.

I also wanted to give you guys a heads up that I’m flying to the US tomorrow evening for my cousin’s wedding. I’ll be back in mid-March and I won’t be bringing my laptop with me (just my smart phone) so I have no idea how often I’ll get to post while I’m gone. I’ll try to schedule posts before I leave but I’m not making any promises since I’m not even done packing yet. 😛

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “The Art of the Brick by Nathan Sawaya

  1. …where in the U.S. are you going to be? If you don’t mind my asking 🙂

    • Rosie, I sent you an email. Will be in LA because that’s where my relatives are based. 🙂 Wish I could go to Utah and visit you and other book blogging buddies.

  2. Ah!!! I WISH I were in California so that I would get the chance to meet you, Chachic. I hope you have a wonderful visit to the US though, and that you kick back and enjoy the vacation. I’m so happy you shared these photos! How cool would it be to be a professional Lego artist? He was indeed very lucky that he could do that. My favorite is actually the first one–I’ll have to keep an eye out and see if this exhibit travels to NYC at some point.

    • Heidi, I wish you’re in California as well! It would be lovely if we could meet up in person. I’m having a good time but not feeling too great (I got sick the night of the wedding because I was tired from the long flight). Isn’t it awesome that this guy was able to pursue his passion and that he’s now a Lego artist instead of a lawyer? He has an exhibit in Utah now, Holly is planning to go see it.

  3. COME TO NEW YORK PRETTY PLEASE! Apart from that, I absolutely love these photos! It’s so awesome to see such stunning artwork done in Legos!

  4. Can’t wait to see this! Thanks posting about it. I still can’t believe that it was already in Utah when I was hoping it was but had no idea!

  5. Lol, sorry. I’m full of typos lately.

  6. This is so cool. Legos, tinkertoys,and coloring books = my childhood. I love that there are people that made Legos into their jobs.

  7. Wow, I’ve never seen something like this before. It’s pretty amazing! I can’t imagine leaving the law to be a Lego artist–talk about a COMPLETE lifestyle change. I think my favorite of the above ones is the Yellow one.

    I hope you’re having fun in Cali, Chachic!! ❤

    • I’m having a good time, Flann! I just wish I’d start feeling better, I don’t want to fly back to Singapore when I’m feeling congested because it’s such a long flight.

      I know, it’s a huge career change but I find it amazing that he’s doing something that he loves (and that it pays well enough for him to leave his law practice). The Yellow one is one of his most popular pieces, according to the description.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

