Want Books: A Corner of White

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I enjoyed reading Jaclyn Moriarty’s epistolary young adult novels so I was immediately curious when I first heard about her latest novel, A Corner of White. It has such an intriguing premise, it looks like fantasy mixed with contemporary because it’s set in two worlds. It reminds me a little of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials, which is one of my favorite fantasy trilogies. I believe A Corner of White was released in Australia late last year (lucky Aussies) but I haven’t been able to find a way to get it. I think a US edition will be released in April so it might be easier for me to grab a copy then.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

A Corner of WhiteMadeleine Tully lives in Cambridge, England, the World – a city of spires, Isaac Newton and Auntie’s Tea Shop.

Elliot Baranski lives in Bonfire, the Farms, the Kingdom of Cello – where seasons roam, the Butterfly Child sleeps in a glass jar, and bells warn of attacks from dangerous Colours.

They are worlds apart – until a crack opens up between them; a corner of white – the slim seam of a letter.

A mesmerising story of two worlds; the cracks between them, the science that binds them and the colours that infuse them.

Looks interesting, right? What about you, what book is at the top of your wishlist?

6 thoughts on “Want Books: A Corner of White

  1. I have this one from NetGalley. I’m pretty excited about it. I really enjoyed her Ashbury/Brookfield books and am interested in this concept and to see how she does with fantasy.

    • Oh it was available on NetGalley? I can’t even remember when was the list time I logged in there, I’m not even sure if I still know my password. Let me know what you think of this when you get the chance to read it.

    • Hey, Paper Chains looks interesting! I just added it to my wishlist, I also want to read Nicola’s other novel, Free-Falling. Where were you able to get a copy of it? I wonder if it’s only available in Australia. These Moriarty sisters are so talented, I’ve read a couple of Liane Moriarty’s novels.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

