Favorite Literary Couples IV

It has become my tradition to celebrate Valentine’s Day here on the blog by posting my favorite literary couples in books I’ve read in the past year. I can’t believe this is already the fourth installment of this post! Kind of amazing to think that I’ve been doing this for that long. I always enjoy doing this because I love literary love stories and I even have fictional crushes (if you’re a fellow book lover, I’m sure you completely understand). So it’s nice to go through books that I’ve read and try to pick the couples that stood out for me. You can check out posts from years past through these links: 2010, 2011, 2012


Image from We Heart It

Mia and Adam from If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman – I was pleasantly surprised by how invested I was in Mia and Adam’s love story. I liked that they’re so different from each other – Mia is a classical music girl who plays the cello while Adam has his rock band – and yet they work so well together. Another aspect of their relationship that I love is how Mia’s parents are so supportive of it that Adam learns to care about them like he’s part of the family. It was so easy to fall into their story and I wanted to bang my head on a wall for waiting so long to read Gayle Forman’s books – although it was a good thing that I didn’t have to wait for a sequel and I got to read these two novels together (not like after I finished Just One Day and couldn’t wait to get my hands on Just One Year). I need to thank one of my favorite authors for pointing me in the direction of these books.

Leah and Grayson from Such A Rush by Jennifer Echols – I found out that Jennifer Echols can write a great slow burn romance when I was introduced to her writing through Going Too Far. Ever since I finished reading that book, I’ve been waiting for her books to live up to how much I enjoyed the love story in Going Too Far. That finally happened with Such A Rush with all the tension between Leah and Grayson. It took them years to finally realize that they’re attracted to each other and I had such a good time watching them circling each other, trying to decide what the next move should be. It was an added bonus that both of them are pilots because I think pilots are cool.

Beth and Lincoln from Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – Such a fun premise and a sweet romance! Even though the book was set in the 90s, I could relate to the story because of Beth using her work mail to chat with her best friend. I also found Lincoln to be a really nice guy and I thought his geekiness was cute. I loved that these two characters are close to my own age and all the characters in the book felt like they were just trying to figure out what to do with the rest of their lives, trying to make big decisions to take a step in the direction that they want to go. Seriously can’t wait to read Eleanor and Park, they sound like another couple that I could root for.

Jacqueline and Lucas from Easy – I think Easy’s love story appealed to me because of the college setting. And also because Lucas seemed like a typical bad boy when he’s really not. I’m a sucker for characters like that. Plus this relationship took time to form, both characters had to work through their own issues before they could be together. I think it’s pretty obvious by now that I’m not a fan of instalove.

Kami and Jared from Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan – Okay, so this might be considered cheating because Kami and Jared aren’t exactly a couple but what they have is even more intimate. I can’t imagine what it must be like to have someone in your head all of the time. I think that bond makes Kami and Jared unique and in tune to each other like no other couple could be (unless they could also read each other’s minds). So even if they’re technically not together as a couple, I’m including them in my list. Looking forward to the sequel (also known as the make out book)!

Oh wow, quite surprising that most of the couples in the list above are from contemporary novels. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been reading mostly contemps but it seems like I need to discover more fantasy couples in the coming year (feel free to give suggestions). And because I always have a hard time narrowing down my choices, here are the runners-up:

Harper and Travis from Something Like Normal by Trish Doller
Seraphina and Lucian from Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
Violet and Martin from Her Best Worst Mistake by Sarah Mayberry
Richard and Charlotte from Steel’s Edge by Ilona Andrews
Jasmine and Sean from Amplified by Tara Kelly

But wait, there’s more! The special mention award goes to:

Lizzie and Darcy from the Lizzie Bennet Diaries – I couldn’t talk about my favorite couples without mentioning these two. So these are characters from a web series instead of a book but they’re based on Pride and Prejudice characters so I think that still counts. In case I haven’t been talking enough about the LBD here (and in both Twitter and Tumblr), I just wanted to say that I like how they modernized the love story. It’s a slow burn romance and every episode with the two of them together is scrutinized in detail by fans all over the world. I can’t wait to see how it all plays out. I refrained from posting a picture of the two of them together because I don’t want to spoil the Darcy reveal for those who haven’t reached that part yet.

Those are my favorite literary couples from books that I’ve read starting mid-February last year. Who are some of your favorite fictional couples? ♥ Would love to hear about them! One sure way of convincing me to pick up a book is by letting me know that there’s a well-written romance in there.

Linkage:
My friend Heidi of Bunbury in the Stacks also talked about her fave couples

33 thoughts on “Favorite Literary Couples IV

  1. Pingback: Bookish Love: My favorite couples from the past year. | Bunbury in the Stacks Bookish Love: My favorite couples from the past year. | One has the right to Bunbury anywhere one chooses. Every serious Bunburyist knows that. ~ Oscar Wilde

    • Quinn, I’m not sure if I’ve pointed it out before but we have similar blog names! I love that you’re also a fan of the LBD. I forgot to watch the latest episode before leaving the flat this morning so I sneakily watched it here in the office. I look forward to future episodes that include Darcy. πŸ˜›

  2. Kami and Jared! I agree that they’re not REALLY a couple in the lovey dovey coupley way, but their relationship is at least as intense as any typical romance. The fact that Sarah Rees Brennan explored the downside to that kind of intense connection is what really made Unspoken for me.

    So glad to see Seraphina and Kiggs on your Honorable Mentions, too. I feel a little mixed up about how much I love them together, since Kiggs is intended for Princess Glisselda, who I also love, but guh, that dance scene.

    Love this post. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, exactly. They have a very intense relationship and I can’t wait to see how it develops in the next book. I know, I definitely agree that I thought it was a good idea on Sarah’s part to explore the negative aspects of having that kind of connection. Have you seen the Valentine’s Untold snippet that she posted?

      Me too, I can’t fully be happy for Seraphina and Kiggs because of his engagement to someone else. I hope there will be a HEA for everyone involved! They all deserve it.

      • OMG, YESβ€”today’s snippet is yet another chapter in the saga of Sarah Rees Brennan torturing us all. It really bothers some of my friends, but I love it, and her. I’m convinced all the kissing snippets are decoys from the major emotional damage that’s going to come from the plot itself, you know? Sigh. September (or whenever Untold will be released) is a long ways away.

  3. I always look forward to your valentines list Chachic! Happy Valentines day — I really like your list. I still need to read Seraphina tho, it sounds like a winner! And yes! The Lizzie Bennett Diaries FTW!

    • Aww thanks, Michelle. I’d like to know who are your favorite literary couples from the past year too. Also, I really think you’d enjoy reading Seraphina. I believe it recently won the Cybils for YA fantasy. You’re an LBD fan as well? We should fangirl about it! I don’t think we’ve gotten a chance to talk about that. Maybe when we meet in person in March? πŸ˜›

    • Amy, I hope my post encouraged you to pick up some of the books here so you can get to know the couples? πŸ˜› Who are some of your own favorite literary couples?

  4. I can’t do one of these every year because I don’t have enough couples I truly fall for every year. I’m hard to please. I’m hoping to have more fondness for Seraphina/Lucian and Kami/Jared in the sequels . And I haven’t read Easy, Such a Rush, or Attachments yet. My library doesn’t have the first two. Grrr.

    The two couples that I really loved this past year were Elisa/Hector from The Crown of Embers and Julia/Jason from Meant to Be.

    • Brandy, I think you can still do a post like this even if you only have one or two couples that you want to highlight. I get what you mean about Seraphina-Kiggs and Kami-Jared, I would like to get to know those two couples better in the sequels.

      It sucks that Easy and Such a Rush aren’t available in your library! I saw Such a Rush in the library over here but I’m not sure about Easy. Attachments is available though? I’m glad you’re willing to read those books, I’d be happy to hear your thoughts on them.

      I haven’t read The Girl of Fire and Thorns and Meant to Be yet. It looks like I should because you liked the couples in them.

    • Yep, I know all about your fave couples, Angie. Because whenever you fall in love with a book and talk about the couple in it, I have the urge to get out and grab a copy as soon as I can. πŸ˜› Leah and Grayson make a great couple, don’t they?

  5. Awe, thanks for the linkage, friend! You really were heavy on the contemp love this year, which says to me more than anything that I really need to give that genre a chance more often–particularly I need to read some Jennifer Echols (I may start with her adult novel, actually). And YES about Jared and Kami–what they have is mind blowingly intimate, and I don’t even know how to handle it. I NEED BOOK TWO NOW. I love Seraphina and Lucien, even though their situation kind of breaks my heart (I wouldn’t love them as much if it weren’t there, they wouldn’t be the same people). Also super excited for Steel’s Edge, which I got for Christmas but haven’t read yet. And YAY DIZZY!! I fully approve. Love them so much. This post made me happy. πŸ˜€

    • Heidi, I would love for you to read more contemporary novels! I think I’ve been reading a lot of them because they’re very easy to get into and there are a lot of distractions here in Singapore.

      If you’re planning to read Jennifer Echols, go with Going Too Far or Such a Rush. Although I’m really curious about her adult title as well. I need Untold now, it doesn’t help that Sarah keeps taunting us with snippets. Like I said in a reply above, I’m hoping for a HEA for all the wonderful characters in Seraphina (also another sequel that I can’t wait to read). Yay for getting Steel’s Edge for Christmas, hope you get to read it soon. And I’m glad you approve of the Darcy-Lizzie shout out in my post. πŸ˜›

    • Oh and if you should like it, one of my favourite couples is in Andrea HΓΆst’s other YA sf – this one a series – the Touchstone trilogy. Though there is NO romance – except for some awareness – in the first book. You can see that this is not a instalove ^^.

    • And All the Stars has a swoon-worthy romance? Oooh that makes me even more excited to read it! I actually have the first Touchstone ebook because it was free for a couple of days in Amazon. I probably won’t read that until I get the rest of the books so I can read all three books together.

  6. Yay for favorite literary couples! We have entirely different couples on our lists. Which means, all the more titles to add to my book list only so I can find out about the couples you mentioned. πŸ˜€

  7. Pingback: My Favorite Valentine’s Reading Posts! | Unearthing Words

  8. zoe and tommy from rachel vail’s friendship book ring series, they are childrens books but i loved them and i was so bummed they never actually got together.
    also valancy and barney from the blue castle

    • I haven’t heard of Rachel Vail’s books but I have been hunting for a copy of The Blue Castle for the longest time, I still haven’t found one. I’ve heard nothing but good things about that book.

  9. Pingback: Just One Day by Gayle Forman | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. You’re making me want to read If I Stay/Where She Went as soon as possible! I enjoyed Just One Day (which was my first Gayle Forman book), and these two companion novels are among the ones that everyone and their mother (in the book blogging world) has been telling me I should read. I can’t wait, especially after seeing what you had to say about them!

    • Oooh you haven’t read If I Stay and Where She Went? I’m pretty sure that you’ll love them since you loved Just One Day. It took me a while to read those two books (only read them last year) and I really don’t know why I waited so long to read them. At least I didn’t have to wait for Where She Went to come out and I got to read the two books together.

  11. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples V | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

