Queen of the Clueless by Mina V. Esguerra

Queen of the Clueless by Mina V. Esguerra is the sequel to Interim Goddess of Love. Do the books need to be read in order? I think so because that will give the reader a better understanding of the story. In fact, I reread the first book before starting on this because I didn’t want to be confused about the characters and everything that happened before. These books are Filipino young adult fiction that has a hint of local mythology (so “goddess” in the title of the first book isn’t a metaphor). It’s going to be a trilogy and there’s no release date for the third book yet but I’m hoping it will be published soon.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Queen of the CluelessIf you’ve been feeling neglected by the Goddess of Love lately, don’t worry – Hannah Maquiling, college sophomore, is in training to take over. The Original Goddess is missing, but Hannah is Interim Goddess now, and she should figure out how to solve humanity’s love problems soon. Quin (God of the Sun) is still her mentor, still really hot, but apparently isn’t as honest about his other earthly relationships as she thought. It’s frustrating, and enough to make her check out possibilities with Diego (God of the Sea) and Robbie (Cute Human).

In the meantime, she’s decided to spend some of her precious training time helping to break up a relationship, instead of putting one together. Why? Because the girl in question happens to be her best friend Sol, whose boyfriend is stealing not just from her, but from other people on campus. Sol didn’t exactly summon the Goddess, but this is what power over Love is for, right? Surely it’s not just about matchmaking, but ending doomed relationships too. (Even when it’s not what people want.)

Hannah is still the temporary Goddess of Love and while she’s still pretty clueless about certain aspects of the job, she’s learning slowly and surely. She gets regular training sessions with Quin, God of the Sun, on how to improve her game as a goddess. She enjoys these sessions with Quin but keeps hoping that they will lead to more than just doing “work” stuff. What’s funny about Hannah’s situation is, she helps other people navigate the tricky waters of love and yet she’s hopelessly in love with someone she can’t have. I think that’s what makes Hannah a relatable character – even if she’s part-time goddess now, she’s still a normal college girl in so many ways. Clearly, she doesn’t have things figured out and like any non-goddess person does, she just goes with her instincts and what she feels is right. I also think it’s ironic that the main plot thread in this installment is Hannah trying to break up a couple instead of bringing them together. I liked that Queen of the Clueless focused on Sol’s love story, it was nice to get to know Hannah’s best friend since we really didn’t get to do that in the first book. I also liked that we learn more about some of the other secondary characters, like Diego and Robbie. Although I wish there was more of Quin in the story, I felt like he didn’t get enough face time in this book. I would have liked to learn more about Quin’s character, a little more insight on how he is both as Quin the mortal guy and as God of the Sun.

I’m really, really curious about the third book in this series. If I had a copy of it right now, I’d dive into it right away. I have no idea how Hannah’s story arc will get resolved and I’m hoping it won’t feel rushed because these books are on the short side. I found Queen of the Clueless an enjoyable read but I definitely wouldn’t have minded if it was a little longer. I think it was a good idea on Mina’s part to try writing a different genre from her usual contemporary romance featuring women in their twenties. I’m all for Filipino fiction with a college setting, especially if it reminds me of my own college experience. I know I’ve mentioned this before but I really couldn’t help but feel that Hannah’s school is like a smaller version of my own alma mater. So many details about the school was reminiscent of my own school – the cafeteria, some of the classes, the rich kids and scholarship kids. I know that Mina attended the same college so maybe it served as an inspiration for her writing. Since I loved my school, I think that’s a good thing. I recommend this to fans of Mina’s writing and readers curious about Filipino fiction. I know I don’t feature enough of them here in my blog so I would gladly recommend this.

Some lomo shots of my college, which can pass off as Ford River:

LomoAteneo

lomoateneo5

lomoateneo4

18 thoughts on “Queen of the Clueless by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. I really enjoyed this one, too! Like you, I reread IGoL first before getting into this, and I enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time. I’m actually planning to reread this one, too, because I read it during times we were stuck in traffic in Jakarta, so I wasn’t really focused on it. After that, I will post my review. πŸ˜€ (Plus it gives me more time with Robbie, who is starting to grow on me. Hee)

    • Robbie is a sweet guy! I feel a little sad for him because Hannah is so focused on Quin. But who knows what will happen in the third book, right? We just have to wait and see (but I am hoping we don’t have to wait long for it). Hope you enjoy rereading this one. πŸ™‚ I’ll be on the lookout for your review.

    • Yeah, I think you should reread IGoL before starting on QotC as well. I liked the two books about the same, I guess. I forgot to mention in my review that QotC has a slightly darker feel to it than IGoL.

  2. Pingback: Queen of the Clueless | One More Page

    • Yep, they’re pictures of Ateneo. Is that where you studied as well? πŸ˜›

      Go ahead and give her books a try, I have a feeling you’d enjoy reading them. The ebook editions aren’t that expensive.

  3. Pingback: Meeting Mina in Singapore | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Saturday Afternoon Discussion: Interim Goddess of Love Trilogy | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Icon of the Indecisive by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. Pingback: Book: Queen of the Clueless | taking a break

  7. Pingback: Welcome to Envy Park by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Giveaway: Interim Goddess of Love Trilogy | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Snapshot From a Book: Interim Goddess of Love | Chachic's Book Nook

    • Hope you get to try this then! The first book in the series is Interim Goddess of Love. It’s a series written by a Filipino author, with some Filipino mythology in it.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

