Interim Goddess of Love Gets a Makeover

Love the title of this post, it’s like there’s an interim goddess who got a makeover. But I’m actually talking about how Filipino author Mina V. Esguerra’s Interim Goddess of Love gets not just one, but two editions with shiny new covers. You can check out my review of the book here. Mina was also kind enough to offer discount coupons for her work and Interim Goddess of Love is included in that list, click here to find out more about it. To those who have no idea what I’m talking about, here’s the summary of the book from Mina’s website:

College sophomore Hannah Maquiling doesn’t know why everyone tells her their love problems. She’s never even had a boyfriend, but that doesn’t stop people from spilling their guts to her, and asking for advice. So maybe it shouldn’t be a surprise when the cutest guy in school tells her that she’s going to have to take on this responsibility – but for all humanity.

The Goddess of Love has gone AWOL. It’s a problem, because her job is to keep in check this world’s obsession with love (and lack of it). The God of the Sun, for now an impossibly handsome senior at an exclusive college just outside of Metro Manila, thinks Hannah has what it takes to (temporarily) do the job.

While she’s learning to do this goddess thing, she practices on the love troubles of shy Kathy, who’s got a secret admirer on campus. Hannah’s mission, should she choose to accept it, is to make sure that he’s not a creepy stalker and they find their happily ever after – or at least something that’ll last until next semester. (As if she could refuse! The Sun God asked so nicely. And he’s so, well, hot.)

The new cover, which was designed by Tania Arpa with the help of photographer Rhea Bue, looks like this:

Interim Goddess of Love_digital cover

I’m usually not a fan of real people in book covers because I like imagining what the characters look like but I think this cover looks great because it doesn’t really feature Hannah’s face. I love the outfit, it has a very college feel to it, which is funny because I would totally wear that as well (what can I say, I’m young at heart). The sequel, Queen of the Clueless has a matching cover design:

Queen of the Clueless

These will be the covers for the international paperback editions. I can’t wait to see what the third book will look like because I heard it will match these two as well. I’m in the middle of Queen of the Clueless now but I have a feeling I’ll finish reading it tonight. Hopefully I can review it soon but I’m not making any promises because I still have a backlog of reviews that I need to work on. I did reread Interim Goddess of Love to refresh my memory before starting on the sequel.

Summit Books will also be publishing a paperback edition of Interim Goddess of Love in the Philippines and this is what their edition will look like:

Interim Goddess of Love_Summit

I think they did a good job with the artwork – throwing in a girl in front of a background of myth and college-related illustrations. I like that she’s holding a crystal ball with the silhouette of a couple, signifying her duties as the temporary Goddess of Love.

Congrats, Mina! I’m glad your ebooks are getting published into ink and paper versions now. πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Interim Goddess of Love Gets a Makeover

    • Oh yes, I knew that you grabbed a copy of the first one back when it was available for free, right? Hope you get to read it soon. Would love to know what you think. πŸ™‚

  1. I don’t usually like real people on covers, but you’re right about the fact that they don’t really feature her face so it’s ok πŸ˜‰ BTW, I actually like the cover for the second book more πŸ˜€

    • Yeah, it’s nice when you don’t get distracted by what a character’s face is supposed to look like, right? I like the two covers about the same, I guess. I think it’s a good idea that they’re matchy matchy. πŸ˜›

  2. First cover: I wish my legs looked that long and my thighs looked that skinny in shorts? LOL. Xp Love the shoes too.

    Second cover: Reminds me of a sweet lolita cosplay shot…

    • I wish I was that skinny, period. Love the vest and the shoes as well, the floral print in both make them look cute.

      LOL it would never have occurred to me as Lolita-esque if you never mentioned it.

  3. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Iris After the Incident by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

