Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: The Reece Malcolm List

10 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’ve been in the mood for good contemporary YA recently and I’ve been hearing good things about The Reece Malcolm List by Amy Spalding on Twitter. I haven’t seen a lot of reviews about it but I’m really curious just based on those tweets and the premise. If I had a copy of this now, I’d start reading it tonight. Unfortunately, I checked the library catalogue and it doesn’t look like they’ll be ordering copies of this one. It was only released a few days ago so probably still not available in bookstores here. Will try to look for a copy if I manage to drop by a bookstore this weekend.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Adobe Photoshop PDFThings I know about Reece Malcolm:

1. She graduated from New York University.
2. She lives in or near Los Angeles.
3. Since her first novel was released, she’s been on the New York Times bestseller list every week.
4. She likes strong coffee and bourbon.
5. She’s my mother.

Devan knows very little about Reece Malcolm, until the day her father dies and she’s shipped off to live with the mother she’s never met. All she has is a list of notebook entries that doesn’t add up to much.

L.A. offers a whole new world to Devan—a performing arts school allows her to pursue her passion for show choir and musicals, a new circle of friends helps to draw her out of her shell, and an intriguing boy opens up possibilities for her first love.

But then the Reece Malcolm list gets a surprising new entry. Now that Devan is so close to having it all, can she handle the possibility of losing everything?

Looks interesting, right? Let me know what you think of this if you’ve had a chance to read it. And what book is at the top of your wishlist now?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

10 thoughts on “Want Books: The Reece Malcolm List

  1. I don’t like the cover, but it sounds interesting. (I know, I know…I’m ridiculously picky about covers! XD ) The top book at my list is currently Eleanor & Park. Maybe Strong Poison too, but I’ll have to shortlist order it because the Barnes & Noble that I currently work at doesn’t have it! lol

    • Eleanor and Park is also on the top of my list, that was my most recent Want Books pick before this one. 😛 Oh I hope you find a copy of Strong Poison soon, I know it’s been reissued in several editions so it shouldn’t be too hard to find copies. I just realized that I never reviewed that book. Maybe I’ll just do a post about the Lord Peter – Harriet series when I finish all the books.

  2. Oh, I saw this one around in NG!
    I hope you get a chance to read it.

  3. I wasn’t sure how to feel about this one, but so far, the people I know who have read it have really enjoyed it. It sounds like a pretty cute contemporary novel!

  4. Love this meme. Thank you for allowing its public use. See it here at https://www.facebook.com/tnliteracy?ref=hl . Thanks, again!

  5. oooh, i read this a week or so ago, it was so great. i think you’d really like it x

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

