Chachic's Book Nook

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

37 Comments

There were several things that made me curious about Attachments. First is the premise, I had a feeling it would be something that I could relate to. Next is the author’s name, I thought Rainbow Rowell is a pretty name. The title is also very fitting and a nice play on words – Attachments both in the sense of email attachments and also emotional attachments between individuals. And last but not the least is the gorgeous cover. I’m so glad I was able to get the Orion edition because I think it’s perfect for the story. So these are the reasons why I read Attachments as soon as I could.

Attachments

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now – reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers – not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say…?

I think it’s pretty common for most people to send personal emails using their work mailbox. I don’t do it as often as I used to because I could access my personal mail in the office. But in my previous jobs, when we had restricted access, I would use my work email to send messages to friends and family. Yes, I knew that IT people can track all of my messages but I’m really not worried about it because they’re probably busy with so many other things. I could relate to Beth and Jennifer’s email exchanges because I’ve had threads like that with some of my own girlfriends. Although nowadays, we tend to communicate on social networking sites or communication apps on our phones instead of emails. I liked how Beth and Jennifer are the same age but they’re at different stages of their lives – Beth feels that her relationship with her once dreamy college boyfriend has plateaued while Jennifer is reluctant to have children even though that’s what her husband wants. They’re both witty and intelligent women who are experiencing realistic problems. It’s no wonder Lincoln is fascinated by their conversation. Here’s a little snippet:

Beth to Jennifer: You’re right. I love weddings. I hate my sister.

Jennifer to Beth: Why?

Beth to Jennifer: Basically… because she’s getting married before me. I’m like the petty older sister in a period drama. “But Papa, she can’t get married before me. I’m the eldest.”

Jennifer to Beth: Oh, I love period dramas, especially period dramas starring Colin Firth. I’m like Bridget Jones if she were actually fat.

Beth to Jennifer: Oh… Colin Firth. He should only do period dramas. And period dramas should only star Colin Firth. (One star upgrade for Colin Firth. Two stars for Colin Firth in a waistcoat.)

Jennifer to Beth: Keep typing his name, even his name is handsome.

Aren’t they cute? Personally, I prefer Richard Armitage (with or without a cravat) over Colin Firth. The narrative switches from conersations between these two women to Lincoln’s point of view. I think Lincoln is a great guy – nerdy, plays D&D, reads fantasy novels, still lives with his mother, feels like he’s socially awkward but is a real gentleman. I felt bad for Lincoln because he’s stuck doing a dreary job that he doesn’t really like doing and he’s really lonely. The highlight of his work day involves going through emails between Beth and Jennifer. I can understand his situation, office hours are probably boring if you work the night shift and you don’t have anyone to talk to. I would probably go crazy if I was in his position (or I’d just end up reading a lot of books while waiting for my shift to end). I really liked how the romance developed. Without mentioning any spoilers, I think it’s a quiet kind of love story but also very sweet. I like how the lines are blurred and there’s no clear-cut good or bad guy in this book. It’s just a bunch of people trying to figure out what they want to do with their lives. All of the characters were well-developed and you can’t help but hope that they all get the happiness that they’re looking for. I think what added to my enjoyment was the fact that the characters are about the same age as I am. I’m always on the lookout for contemporary romance with more depth than usual and that’s what I got with this one. Will definitely be pre-ordering Eleanor and Park closer to its release date. I’m also planning to read Rainbow Rowell’s other novel, Fangirl, also out for release this year.

Other reviews:
Book Harbinger
The Readventurer
The Reading Date
The Book Stop
Book’d Out

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

37 thoughts on “Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

  1. This sounds right up my alley! Adding this to my Goodreads TBR right now! I love both Colin Firth and Richard Armitage in period dramas, they both just something about them….plus Richard Armitage just has this really sexy voice. Thank you for the review!

    • Yay, glad I convinced you to pick it up! I hope you end up liking it just as much (or even more) than I did. Yep, both Colin Firth and Richard Armitage are great in period dramas. I would love to watch North and South again sometime soon. 😛

  2. Oh this book sounds so cute!

    And bonus points for the Colin Firth love. (Although I agree that RA is better–until John Thorton entered my life, I always thought Darcy would own my heart).

    • Sandy, you should give it a try! I have a feeling you might like this one.

      LOL but isn’t Darcy taking over again because of the Lizzie Bennet Diaries? Hmm maybe they should try making a modern version of North and South next.

  3. Nice comments, Chachic. Particularly the RA reference. Way to represent.

    This one didn’t ultimately work for me, but I’m glad most everyone else seems to be loving it.

    • I knew you’d approve of the Richard Armitage reference. Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy reading this one! I’m glad you still picked it up though. Are you planning to give Eleanor and Park a try?

      • Unfortunately, I left this one with a bad enough taste in my mouth that E&P is pretty far down on my list. I know. I should rise above it all . . . blergh.

      • Oh I had no idea you had such a strong reaction to this one! Don’t worry, I’ll let you know whether I think E&P would make a good Angie book or not. The earliest that I could read it is March because the release date for the edition that I want is end of Feb.

  4. Fun! I love finding unknown gems. And I’ve not heard of this one before. Thank you!

  5. This sounds so good! I’ve actually read Eleanor & Park by her, and loved it, so I’m confident I’ll really like this one too.

  6. “I like how the lines are blurred and there’s no clear-cut good or bad guy in this book.”=>Exactly! It was refreshing to find no stereotypes. Great, detailed review Chachic. I’m so glad that you’re a Rainbow Rowell fan now.

    • Holly, I know we already had a discussion about this book but thanks for dropping by to comment! I think Beth’s boyfriend, Chris, is the best example when it comes to not having a good or bad guy in this novel.

      I need to get a copy of Eleanor and Park but now I want my Ranbow Rowell editions to match. 😛

  7. All right! You convinced me!!!
    When I’m done with my current book I shall start listening to my audiobook of this!!
    Great review
    and Richard Armitage FTW!

    • Yes, I think we can all agree that Richard Armitage is awesome. Would love to hear your feedback on the audiobook, I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll like it

  8. Richard Armitage in an unbuttoned period shirt wins hands down, every time 😉 I quite liked Eleanor and Park, so I think I’d like to try this one too after reading this 🙂

    • *nods head* I think Beth and Jennifer didn’t talk about Richard Armitage because the BBC adaptation hasn’t come out yet in 1999 (that’s when Attachment’s story is set). I’m planning to pre-order Eleanor and Park, I’ve been hearing good things about it.

  9. I really enjoyed this book, too! I read and reviewed it early last year and I still remember most of the details that I liked about it. Have you been to Rainbow Rowell’s website? She has the most gorgeous author website that I know. (Or at least, her look is just up my alley.)

    • Chris, I didn’t know you read and reviewed this! I should edit this post to link to your review. Me too, the details of the story still keep coming back to me days after I finished reading it.

      Yep, I’ve seen her website. It really is pretty. I want to download a playlist of the songs that she has for the book. Are you planning to read Eleanor and Park or Fangirl this year?

      • Really excited for Fangirl to come out! (Mostly because I can be obsessive about my fandoms… hello, fanfiction.) Di pa ako sure sa Eleanor & Park. It still hasn’t called to me, though I’ve read a lot of positive reviews! Maybe a few months more hehe.

  10. I really liked this one. And you’re right that it’s a “quiet” romance. I’ve been recommending it to people who like Meg Cabot’s Boy series (Boy Next Door, Girl Meets Boy…) because of it being epistolary and pretty funny. I liked the serious storyline and how Lincoln was woven into that–I absolutely loved that part with the car and the McDonald’s:-/ I really want to read Eleanor & Park now, too!

    • I don’t think I’ve ever read Meg Cabot’s Boy series but maybe I should check it out if it has a similar feel to Attachments. Oh yes, I thought that McDonald’s scene was good too. I liked how we get two sides of the story – Lincoln through his POV and Beth and Jennifer through their emails. It’s amazing how much you can find out through the correspondence of two friends.

  11. First, HELL YEAH to Richard Armitage!! I love Colin Firth but seriously, RA all day! 😛

    I loved this book. It just felt so modern and fresh and relatable. I think I didn’t like Eleanor and Park as much as I was hoping because my expectations were SO high after Attachments. I’m curious to hear what you think of E+P.

    • *RA high five*

      Me too, I could really relate to this novel even though it’s set in 1999 instead of the present. Sorry to hear that you didn’t like Eleanor and Park as much as this one – maybe I should manage my expectations for that book. Will definitely pre-order it, just trying to decide what to get with it.

  12. OMG…I love Rainbow Rowells name too! And I’m preordering Eleanor and Park too !! 😀 Woot, woot! Also, this book sounds awesome. I totally need to add this to my list! yay 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with us .. btw, I did end up buying the awesomest t-shirts from Threadless. You were right about how divine they are 😀

    • Oh what Threadless designs did you end up getting? 🙂 You should add this to your list as well, especially since you’re curious about Eleanor and Park. At least you can grab a copy of this now, no need to wait for it.

      • Yes, I shall ! 😀 Oh, I actually was a very bad girl and bought about 8 t-shirts! lol 😄 One with owls, two that have a ship and sea design, a peacock one, one with birds, one with 4 animals that’s called “4 spirits”, and another one that looks like they cut out and pasted several interior design schemes into the shirt. It’s hard to explain. lol

        But Threadless is becoming a new obsession for me 😄 !! Soon I will go bankrupt between that site and the book shopping I do at the Barnes & Noble that I work at. hehe

      • Oh I have about 8 Threadless literary shirts as well. My goal is to collect all of the literary designs that I’m interested in. 😛 I hope some of them will get reprinted. I even got my flatmates Threadless shirts for Christmas and they loved the designs that I chose for them – I hope that encourages them to buy from the site too so I have more people to obsess with.

  13. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples IV | Chachic's Book Nook

  14. I have wanted to read this book for some time now and that review has just made me want to read it even more! Great review and thanks 😀

  15. Pingback: 2013 California Book Haul | Chachic's Book Nook

  16. Pingback: Top Ten Favorite Book Covers Of Books I’ve Read | Chachic's Book Nook

  17. Pingback: Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List | Chachic's Book Nook

  18. Pingback: Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List | Chachic's Book Nook

  19. Pingback: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell | Chachic's Book Nook

  20. Pingback: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

