Shoot That Book: Just One More Day

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I’ve been savoring Gayle Forman’s Just One Day for the past few days. I just finished reading it a few minutes ago. I’m still processing what I think of the book but hopefully, I can review it soon. It reminds me of other contemporary YA novels that I’ve enjoyed before: Graffiti Moon because of the one day/night thing, Anna and the French Kiss because it’s also set in Paris and Wanderlove because of the meeting a guy and traveling with him aspect.

Just One Day

Just One Day on top of my suitcase, I thought it would be fitting

Initially, I wasn’t a fan of the cover. I thought it could have gotten a better design but now that I’ve read the book, I feel like the cover fits the story. It represents Allyson’s thoughtful moments while traveling around Europe – because it shows a girl hanging out in a cafe and thinking about life while enjoying a cup of coffee (or is that tea). Even the gigantic watch plays a part in Allyson’s story. I also like that the picture shows a hazy reflection of what she can see outside the window.

Just One Day Shakespeare quote

What about you, what are you reading right now? Have you paid any attention to how the cover of that book relates to the story?

18 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Just One More Day

  1. I’m reading Level 2 and Days of Blood and Starlight. I love that both books have eye catching covers that definitely represent their stories.

    • Oh I have a copy of Days of Blood and Starlight but I haven’t read it yet. You’re right, it does have an eye-catching cover similar to Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

    • I saw your review and I remember we talked on Twitter about how this has made it to your list of favorites this year. I really enjoyed it as well! Hope I can review it soon.

  2. I really want to read this book, so can’t wait for your full review of it. Keep us posted! Right now I’m reading a hilarious book How Hard Can It Be? by Robyn Peterman. It was just released this January. I couldn’t stop laughing all the way through Chapter 2. Can’t wait to get home tonight to read more

    • I still haven’t reviewed this! I’ll try to work on my review in the coming days and hopefully I can post something next week. Good that you’re reading a hilarious novel right now, those are always fun to read.

    • Yeah, the cover doesn’t look that great if you haven’t read the book but I like how it relates to the story. I know, I’ve always wanted to go to Paris but books like this and Anna and the French Kiss make me jealous of people who’ve been there.

  3. I had the same thoughts on the cover. At first I wasn’t really a fan but I actually came to like it more–you’re right that she sort of looks like her and about the watch and her looking like she could be in a cafe in Europe. In other news, I WANT THAT WATCH.

    • That’s totally not weird because I feel the same way! I prefer cover art that doesn’t feature real people. I like coming up with my own idea of what the characters should look like.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

