Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Just One Day

15 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I keep wanting to catch up on reviews that I need to write for the blog but sadly, the past few days have been super busy. My flatmates and I are moving to a new flat at the end of the month so we’re spending a good chunk of our time taking care of details for that. Anyway, I thought I’d put up a Want Books post because I really, really want to read Just One Day by Gayle Forman. Its official release day is January 8 but as usual, it takes longer for us to get stocks of the book on this side of the world. I dropped by the library and the bookstore last Friday but couldn’t find it. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked both If I Stay and Where She Went so Just One Day is one of my most anticipated titles this year. Sigh, I can’t order it from the Book Depository yet because I’ll be changing addresses soon.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Just One DayWhen sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

I have a feeling this is going to be a good one. Let me know what you think if you’ve read this already (lucky you!) And for the rest of you, what book is in your wishlist? This reminds me that I should come up with a list of anticipated titles for 2013.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

15 thoughts on “Want Books: Just One Day

  1. I really want this one too! I’m rather jealous of the all the people doing the read it in just one day thing and posting about it on Twitter. I haven’t had a chance to get a copy yet.

    • Brandy, me too! I’m really jealous of everyone else who has a copy of this. That’s a great idea, reading the book in one day. I’m trying to decide if I should get a Kindle or an actual copy, the Kindle will be faster but I think I’d prefer having a physical copy of this.

  2. This is on my TBR list as well — one of the few stand-alones from 2013 that I am already really wanting. The rest all seem to be sequels that I just can’t wait any longer to read like Untold or Madness Underneath.

  3. Hehe, I KNEW this was going to pop up on your want books sooner or later! Good luck with your move, Chachic, I hope it’s not too much of a pain–glad you and your flat mates are sticking together. I’ll have to get your new addy when you move–I have postcards! 😛

    • LOL am I that predictable, Heidi? I guess this isn’t a surprising choice since I really liked Gayle Forman’s other novels. I hope I can get a copy of it soon.

      The move is taking up a lot of our time but I hope things settle down in February – we’re officially moving in next weekend. I have a feeling it’s going to be real tiring. Will let you know the new address soon!

  4. This is definitely on my wishlist too! I loved If I Stay and Where She Went so I’m 99% sure I’m going to love Just One Day.

  5. Pingback: Book Haul: Kinokuniya | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. I really want to read this one too, but then I am not sure if I want to read it now or what until the follow up book comes out.

    • I probably couldn’t wait until the second book’s release to read this one. LOL I already have a copy, by the way. I just hope it doesn’t have a cliffhanger ending. I liked where If I Stay ended so I’m hoping that’s how I’ll feel about Just One Day as well.

  7. I just finished reading it and boy, it was awesome 🙂
    I would love to read the next book, Just One Year.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

