Chachic's Book Nook

Best of 2012

26 Comments

Happy 2013! *throws confetti* It’s been customary for me to post my favorite books of the past year on the first day of the next year. In 2010, I had 20 books in my list. In 2011, I had 15 books. In 2012, I only have 8 books (click on the thumbnails to see my reviews):

Nine Coaches WaitingNorthlanderTrese Mass MurdersThe Fault in Our StarsCode Name VeritySuch A RushSeraphinaEasy

I wasn’t able to read as much as the past two years so maybe that’s why I don’t have as many titles in my best of 2012 list. My reading slowed down when I moved to Singapore for work during the latter part of the year. I was pretty active at the first half of 2012 and had a lot of fun organizing two blog events:

Queen's Thief Badge

Queen’s Thief Week – click here to see all the posts in case you missed any of them

Marchetta Madness badge

and Marchetta Madness – click here to see all the posts

Aside from these events, I also started a new feature called Postcard Love to celebrate my love of postcards and because I keep exchanging postcards with book blogger friends.

Postcard Love Logo

Last but certainly not the least, I was invited to become part of the YAckers book club! I participated in my first book discussion with them when we read The Raven Boys.

YAckers

All in all, a pretty active 2012! I’m hoping for better things in 2013. I still feel like I’m in the process of adjusting to living abroad and I wish I’d have more time to read and blog. We’ll see how it goes. How about you, what are your top 2012 reads and what were the highlights of the year for you? πŸ™‚

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

26 thoughts on “Best of 2012

  1. This reminds me to finish up the Trese series in 2013. And speaking of The Queen’s Thief, Queen of Attolia is on my best of 2012 list, It’s super good. Hee. I should really try E.Wein and some more Marchetta and John Green too. I wish you all the best in 2013 Chachic! πŸ™‚

    • Tin, what Trese books have you read so far? I got a copy of Trese 5 when I was in Manila but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Yay for The Queen of Attolia making it to your list! What about The King of Attolia? I can’t decide what’s my favorite between those to. Yes to reading more EWein, Melina Marchatte and John Green (speaking of, I really need to read Paper Towns). Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

      • Only Trese 1 and 2, so I’m waaay behind this series. I have a copy of KoA already! So, I’ll be reading it anytime this year. And Piper’s Son too. *woot woot* πŸ˜€

  2. Happy New Year, Chachic! Hope things get easier for you in 2013! And I’m going to read Raven Boys bec. it’s gotten me curious now.:)

    • Happy New Year, Honey! Thanks for dropping by. I have a feeling 2013 will be better than 2012 but we’ll see. πŸ™‚ Have you read The Scorpio Races? I can’t remember if you have. That’s my favorite Maggie Stiefvater. After that is The Raven Boys.

  3. Great list! I read and loved most of those this year as well…and Northlander is already on my list after seeing your review awhile back πŸ™‚

    • Allison, would love for you to read Northlander. Make sure to grab a copy of The King Commands while you’re at it because those companion novels are meant to be read together. πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy reading them as much as I did.

  4. Happy New Year!!
    And I loved the Marchetta Madness! it was one of my favorite things of the year.

    • Happy New Year, Alexa! And Belated Happy Birthday as well. πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoyed the holidays. Aww it warms my heart to know that Marchetta Madness was one of your favorite things in 2012.

  5. I always feel so lazy in comparison to the rest of the blogosphere because everyone always posts their “best of x year” while I…do nothing special, lol.

    Maybe 2013 will be different for me. Anyway! Happy new year, Chachic! I’m glad you’re officially part of the YAck family πŸ™‚

    • I always feel so lazy in comparison to the rest of the blogosphere whenever I see how active everyone else is on their blogs. πŸ˜› But I’ve gotten used to that so I just post whenever I can. I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll get to blog more in 2013. I’m hoping for the same thing for you!

      Happy New Year, Sandy! I’m glad to be a YAcker now. Speaking of, I still need to look for a copy of Anna Dressed in Blood in the library.

  6. Happy New Year! I love your list — I still need to read SERAPHINA & THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. How could I have managed to miss those? And your Marchetta Madness & Queen’s Thief weeks were AMAZING! Good work Chachic!

    • Michelle, you know I think Northlander made it to my list because I enjoyed our read-along? It really is more fun to read a book when you get to discuss it in detail with a friend. πŸ™‚ Hope you get to read both Seraphina and The Fault in Our Stars soon. I’m glad you loved both Marchetta Madness and Queen’s Thief Week. I have no idea if I’ll be able to organize something similar this year.

      PS: I got your Christmas card! Thanks so much for sending it to me. That’s the second family card that I’ve received – the first is from Elizabeth Fama. I should take a picture and tweet about it. πŸ˜€

  7. I’m so happy to see The Fault in Our Stars and Nine Coaches Waiting (of course!) on your list. I really need to get a copy of Northlander sometime.

    • I just saw your Smugglivus post and it makes me happy that we both have The Fault in Our Stars and Nine Coaches Waiting in our lists. πŸ˜› So glad we decided to read our first Mary Stewart novel together. I still need to read the rest of her titles that I have copies of.

  8. Yay for TFIOS, Seraphina, and Code Name Verity! (That’s all I’ve read fron your list…. the others sound good, too!)

  9. John Green surpassed my expectations for sure. Great YA book.

  10. really awesome to be included in your best of 2012, along with some of my own faves (though I read 9 Coaches Waiting *MANY* years ago)!

    • Oooh thanks for dropping by! Of course, CNV is included in this list. πŸ˜› I really need to get copies of Mary Stewart’s Merlin trilogy. But I still haven’t read your previous recommendation, The King Must Die and The Bull from the Sea, but I have both books here in Singapore. Hope I get to read them in 2013!

  11. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: Singapore Writers Festival: “Instalove” – Romance and the YA Novel | Chachic's Book Nook

  13. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

