Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: December 2012 in Manila

7 Comments

Only a few more minutes left in 2012! Before the year ends, I wanted to squeeze in a book haul post. I’m actually packing for my trip back to Singapore tomorrow and I realized that I haven’t talked about the books that I bought during my vacation. I went a little crazy because books are more affordable here in Manila. Dropped by several Fully Booked branches:

Fully Booked December 2012

Got these titles by Filipino authors:

Filipino books December 2012

Trese 5: Midnight Tribunal by Budjette Tan and Kajo Baldisimo
The Breakup Diaries by Maya Calica
Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra

I bought several copies of both The Breakup Diaries and Fairy Tale Fail and gave them as Christmas gifts to friends. I also grabbed these Dorothy Sayers titles, featuring Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane:

Peter Harriet December 2012

Have His Carcase by Dorothy Sayers
Gaudy Night by Dorothy Sayers
Busman’s Honeymoon by Dorothy Sayers

I was pleasantly surprised by these trade paperback editions because I was expecting the black and white mass market paperbacks. I think these are much nicer. I just finished reading Strong Poison and hopefully, I can review it on the blog soon. Looking forward to reading the rest of the books in the series, I keep hearing good things about the characters. I also got these two contemporary titles:

Contemporary December 2012

My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger
Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Love the cover for Attachments, My Most Excellent Year’s cover could have been better. Last but not the least, I got a copy of this young adult fantasy novel:

Vessel December 2012

Vessel by Sarah Beth Durst

I’m excited to read all of these! I just need to be creative in packing my stuff so I can include all of these and add more books from my own bookshelf. Happy New Year’s Eve, everyone! πŸ™‚ Off to watch the fireworks in our neighborhood.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

7 thoughts on “Book Haul: December 2012 in Manila

  1. Those Sayers editions are gorgeous.

    • Angie, I’ve been wondering if you’ve read Dorothy Sayers’ novels? They seem to be popular with MWT fans. And they have a similar vibe to Mary Stewart because of the mystery aspect.

  2. I’m looking forward to Vessel lots myself–such a gorgeous cover! And Busman’s Honeymoon is one of my favorite books ever–I hope you enjoy it, and the others, too!

    • Vessel does have a beautiful cover! It’s one of the reasons why I grabbed a copy even though it’s still in hardcover, I was trying to decide if I should wait for the paperback. Ooooh you’re a Peter and Harriet fan too, Charlotte? πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Shoot That Book: MNL to SIN Stash Part 3 | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: Book Haul: MNL to SIN Stash Part 4 | Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Retro Friday: My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

