Maligayang Pasko! Merry Christmas, Everyone!

Chachic's Book Nook Christmas

Just wanted to put up a quick post to greet all of you a Merry Christmas! πŸ™‚ Hope you’re enjoying the holidays, wherever you may be. I’m so glad I got to go home to Manila for a couple of days. Christmas won’t be the same if I didn’t get to spend it with family and friends.

December 25 is almost over in our side of the world and I’m planning to get into one of my favorite Christmas rereads before going to bed:

At First Sight instagram

What are some of your favorite holiday reads? Happy Holidays! πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “Maligayang Pasko! Merry Christmas, Everyone!

  1. Merry, Merry Christmas Chachic! This is the only Christmas that I actually happen to have a Christmas themed read and it was nice. Doubles the warm and fuzzy feeling of the holidays. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares would have to be my favorite.:)

    • Sorry for the late reply, Tin! Hope you had a lovely Christmas. I keep wanting to read a Christmas-themed book during the holidays, I feel like it helps me get in the mood for the festivities. Glad you had a good read for Christmas. πŸ™‚

  2. Merry Christmas, cutie! πŸ˜€ Hope you had a great one.

    p.s. I check out Threadless and you’re right! They have divine tshirts!! I already saw two I loved. But I didn’t see any bookish ones. Am I looking in the wrong spot, maybe? lol

    • Happy 2013, Estara! Hope you had fun during the holidays. πŸ™‚ I had a great time in Manila – I’m packing for my trip back to Singapore tomorrow and I don’t want to leave yet.

    • Oh wow, three years?! I feel sad for you! I hope you can go home next year. I’ve never spent Christmas away from family and friends, I have a feeling it would be really lonely if that ever happened. Happy 2013! πŸ™‚ Hope it will be lovelier than 2012.

  3. I first read At First Sight in my teens. It’s one of 6 books from the Love Stories series that I own, love and just can’t let go of, despite the lack of room in my bookshelf. Never actually heard of anyone else who knows At First Sight! Hope you had a lovely Christmas! πŸ™‚

    • I collected the Love Stories books when I was a teenager! I’ve passed on most of them to my younger cousin but I kept Elizabeth Chandler’s books. What are the 6 ones that you love? πŸ™‚ Happy New Year! Hope you’re enjoying the holidays.

  4. My other faves are I Do (also by Elizabeth Chandler), Stolen Kisses by Liesa Abrams and 3 super editions: A Song For Caitlin by J.E Bright, All That by Lynn Mason and Summer Love by Wendy Loggia. I reread them whenever I feel like reading a happy ending with maybe a little bit of corniness. It’s funny how books you grow up with stay with you.
    I also wanted to say that I really enjoyed your Marchetta Madness week. Loved every post and I remembered it when Annette and I created our own WordPress to blog about our Melina-Marchetta-books-inspired road trip. Happy New Year, I look forward to seeing what 2013 brings to your blog πŸ™‚
    – Rachel

    • I don’t think I’ve read the other titles that you mentioned. Wish the Love Stories books weren’t out of print so I could still get titles that I’m interested in. Me too, I reread At First Sight and I Do whenever I want a feel good novel. Teens are so lucky nowadays because there are a lot more YA titles for them to read.

      Aww thanks for the feedback about Marchetta Madness. I had a lot of fun organizing that event and I’m grateful to all the authors and bloggers who wrote guest posts for that. Oh wow, a Melina Marchetta-inspired road trip? Sounds exciting! πŸ˜›

      • I managed to get all the ones I love from Amazon but I don’t know if that was before they went out of print. I did check recently though and I think they are still being sold through companies affiliated with Amazon. Have you tried Amazon before? I do have to agree with you about the wider selection of books these days, not just for teens though! I go on Goodreads and get far too overwhelmed! Haha.
        I love any kind of event that involves MM. I hope I don’t sound too wanky by saying this, but it’s awesome we get to claim her as one of our YA authors and seeing how far Melina’s books have spread (I understand you’re currently based in Singapore?) makes me so proud cos I think her books deserve world-wide attention. I’m curious as Annette and myself are new to the blogging world; how do you go about organising something like that, it must have taken a fair bit of effort on your part?!
        Yes, a Melina Marchetta road trip. Annette and myself both live in Melbourne so we drove up to Sydney to visit all the locations mentioned in Looking For Alibrandi – the book and movie, Saving Francesca, On The Jellicoe Road and The Piper’s Son. We’ve completed LFA book locations and we’re currently posting LFA movie locations. Feel free to check it out if you’re at all interested πŸ˜€

      • I’ve tried ordering from Amazon years ago but international shipping was so expensive so I never tried it again. I order from the Book Depository if there’s a book that’s not available in local bookstores.

        LOL you’re right, Goodreads can be overwhelming at times. I don’t get to go online over there as often as I’d like.

        It really IS awesome that Melina’s books are read and loved all over the world. She definitely deserves all the recognition that she’s gotten. Yes, I’m a Filipino based in Singapore – I was in Manila when I hosted Marchetta Madness. It really did take a lot of effort to organize the event but I figured it would be worth the trouble because so many of my blogging buddies are also fans of Melina’s books (so I knew they’d enjoy the event). Also, that’s how I knew that they’d be willing to write guest posts. πŸ˜›

        Sounds like you guys had a great time with that road trip! Will drop by and check out your posts when I get the chance. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

