Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Dorothy Sayers

8 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I have recently decided that I need Dorothy Sayers in my life. I’ve heard good things about her books from Sounis so I know it must be an excellent series. Looks like Lord Peter Wimsey is a great character. These are the Dorothy Sayers books that I have copies of:

Dorothy Sayers Dec 6 2012

I asked around and heard that it would be good to start with Strong Poison, which is why I bought a used copy ages ago. Check out the old school cover:

Strong Poison cover

According to credible sources, I should bump this up the TBR pile because the romance between Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane is comparable to the love story in my favorite YA series of all time: the Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner. Shouldn’t be surprising since I did mention that I heard about the books through Sounis.

A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery

So now I want to grab copies of the three other Peter-Harriet titles (Have His Carcase, Gaudy Night and Busman’s Honeymoon) because I want to read them together. Unfortunately, the books aren’t available in the library here in Singapore. I even dropped by two bookstores today to see if they have copies but they’re out of stock. I need to find out if these are available in Manila – otherwise, I’d just order them from the Book Depository. Have you read Dorothy Sayers’ books? Feel free to share your thoughts about them.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Dorothy Sayers

  1. Well you already know my thoughts. 🙂 It’s great to be referred to has a “credible source”. I’m sorry you can’t find the other ones in Singapore.

    (And all my copies have the covers like your Strong Poison)

    • I know, I dropped by several bookstores to check if they had copies of her books but I guess they aren’t popular enough to be stocked here. Good thing my favorite bookstore back home has copies! It still surprises me that Manila bookstores are better than Singapore ones.

  2. It sucks when you can’t find a particular title in your country. Back when I used to live in Mexico I was rarely able to get the books I wanted. Sigh…

    • Yeah, it’s always frustrating when the books that you want aren’t available where you are located. Which is why I love the Book Depository (free worldwide shipping), it’s just that I’m too impatient when it comes to waiting for orders to get delivered. 😛

  3. I approve of this reading choice!

  4. I am determined to give The Thief another try again. SOON, my friend. SOON.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

