Book Haul: Times Book Sale

I veered away from my usual Sunday library visit because my friend invited me to go with her to the book sale organized by Times. Since books are pricey here in Singapore, I wanted to take advantage of the availability of bargain books.

Times Book Sale

I was delighted to discover that there were several shelves of books in that place and all of them were being sold at a discounted price. So of course, we spent a few hours browsing through everything. I was pleasantly surprised to see novels written by Filipino authors available in the sale:

Filipino books in SG book sale

I was thrilled when I saw this edition of The Queen of Attolia because I don’t have a copy of it yet and one can never have enough copies of one’s favorite books:

Queen of Attolia in Times

Remember when I said that I haven’t bought books for myself ever since I moved here in Singapore? I’ve only purchased books given as gifts to friends. For my own reading, I just borrow from the library. Well, I made up for that with this stash:

Times book sale haul Dec 2012

Thunder on the Right by Mary Stewart
Wildfire at Midnight by Mary Stewart
The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
Kiss It by Erin Downing
Hangman’s Holiday by Dorothy Sayers
Lord Peter Views the Body by Dorothy Sayers
Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde
The Chocolate Run and The Cupid Effect omnibus by Dorothy Koomson

I got all of these for only SGD 32. Not bad, right? I like seeing them all lined up on the shelf in my room. Yay for more books! What about you, what books have you bought or borrowed this week?

14 thoughts on “Book Haul: Times Book Sale

  1. I’m glad you decided to treat yourself, Chachic! I LOVE that cover of QoA, it’s one I haven’t seen before at all (and no, you can’t have too many copies). Also love that the Mary Stewart books you bought match your other ones!

    • I’ve seen this cover in the interwebs but it’s my first time to see in it person. Which is why I didn’t hesitate in grabbing a copy. I was pretty excited to see that they have those editions of Mary Stewart’s books and of titles that I don’t have copes of. I bet they would look amazing side by side with my copies of her other books.

  2. I’m going to agree that buying that copy of QoA even though you already have one was a good idea. That is a great cover! Sigh, I love a good book sale so looking at these pictures is happy making. Glad you found some good deals there.

    • I now have three copies of Queen of Attolia (one is signed). It feels nice to have an MWT book here with me. Aww I’m glad my post made you happy as well. I was surprised at how affordable the books were considering that they’re more expensive here and that some of them looked brand-new (some were damaged but still good copies). Now I want to visit every book sale that I hear about. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Always wanted to read Illustrado. I’ll get to it perhaps. One day.
    It’s amazing to have book sales when prices on books are so expensive in Asia.

    • Book prices aren’t so bad in Manila – they’re usually the same as the published price on the covers and cheaper sometimes. Books are a lot more expensive in Singapore.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

