Want Books: My Most Excellent Year

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’ve been wanting to read My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger ever since I saw this glowing review from my friend Maggie of Young Adult Anonymous. I then found out that another friend, Flannery of The Readventurer, also loved the book. Even though I’m not familiar with Boston or Fenway Park, I’m always up for good contemporary novels so I checked if the library has copies of this. Unfortunately, it’s not available in the branch that I go to. I also checked the bookstore but they don’t have it either. Maybe I can grab a copy when I go home, bookstores in Manila have better stocks than the ones here.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

My Most Excellent YearBest friends and unofficial brothers since they were six, ninth-graders T.C. and Augie have got the world figured out. But that all changes when both friends fall in love for the first time. Enter Alé. She’s pretty, sassy, and on her way to Harvard. T.C. falls hard, but Alé is playing hard to get. Meanwhile, Augie realizes that he’s got a crush on a boy. It’s not so clear to him, but to his family and friends, it’s totally obvious! Told in alternating perspectives, this is the hilarious and touching story of their most excellent year, where these three friends discover love, themselves, and how a little magic and Mary Poppins can go a long way.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

12 thoughts on “Want Books: My Most Excellent Year

  1. I hadn’t heard of this one until this post, but it sounds good. Actually, I just popped over to the Readventurer’s site and it sounds AWESOME. I will have to keep an eye out.

    • I hadn’t heard of it until I saw Maggie’s post and then I checked out Flannery’s as well. It looks really good, right? I added it to my wishlist right after seeing those reviews. Would love to know what you think of this if you get to read it. I feel bad that it’s not available in the library.

  2. I actually bought and read this book about 6 months ago. I thought it was a good read. Hilarious!! And considering the fact that I don’t like YA, that’s saying A LOT.

    I really think you’ll enjoy it!

    p.s. thank you so much for stopping by my blog! totally made my day :))

    • Alejandra, good to know that you enjoyed reading this one even if you’re not a contemporary YA fan. That means it must be really good. What made you decide to pick this up?

      • I fell in love with the idea of Boston and a taste of Mary Poppins within the book. If you like Julie Andrews, be warned that this book is slavered with references of her and many more delicious Bostonian references. 😉

  3. This is pretty light-hearted contemporary YA. As long as you know what you’re getting into, and can deal with some cheese, it’s a great choice. I know you know both Maggie and I loved it but it sounds almost comical how many different characters are in it. It was the perfect book for me at that time and I’m so grateful to some of my German Goodreads friends for recommending it to me.

    • I can definitely deal with some cheese. I’m all for light-hearted contemporary YA, I like how easy it is to get into those kinds of books. Oh so that’s how you found out about this. I get the feeling that it’s an under-the-radar book because I haven’t seen that many bloggers raving about it.

    • Oooh you got a discounted copy, that’s always a good thing. It’s a big book? I didn’t know that, I thought it would be just the usual length of a contemporary YA. Let me know what you think when you get to read it. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

