Book Haul: Contemporary Stash from the Library

I apologize that the blog has been neglected the past few days, real life has been getting in the way of things. I know that my most recent post was also about a library stash but I just can’t help myself from borrowing books even if I have to return them unread. Sunday library visits are becoming a weekly habit, there’s something about going to the library that I find therapeutic. The same thing happens when I visit a bookstore but since I don’t end up buying anything because books are expensive here, I’d rather go to the library. Here’s my stash for this week, contemporary novels which should be pretty easy to get into:

Contemporary stash from the library

My One and Only by Kristan Higgins
Chocolate Wishes by Trisha Ashley
The One that I Want by Jennifer Echols
How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr

I’m already reading The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater on my Kindle but I couldn’t resist when I saw it in the library yesterday:

The Raven Boys from the library

I found a beautiful quote from The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen to explain why I like having books around me even if I don’t get to read all of them:

“Books can be possessive, can’t they? You’re walking around in a bookstore and a certain one will jump out at you, like it had moved there on its own, just to get your attention. Sometimes what’s inside will change your life, but sometimes you don’t even have to read it. Sometimes it’s a comfort just to have a book around. Many of these books haven’t even had their spines cracked. ‘Why do you buy books you don’t even read?’ our daughter asks us. That’s like asking someone who lives alone why they bought a cat. For company, of course.”

What about you, have you gotten any books lately to keep you company?

18 thoughts on “Book Haul: Contemporary Stash from the Library

  1. The One That I Want … and…Chocolate Factory…

    Sounds amaaaazing!! :)))

    Also, what a quote!! I finally understood why I like being just surrounded by books! It’s therapeutic somehow. Just looking at the pretty covers makes my day! :))

    p.s. Btw, this is Alejandra, from Musings in Red. I’ve split my old blog into two: an inspirational blog, “Parasol Dreams”, and THIS book review blog.
    I’ve been dying to have a blog officially dedicated to JUST book reviews for quite a while, so I’m quite excited about this! 🙂

    And the reason I’m boring you with all this information is that I’m just letting all the blogs I follow know about my new blog name so that they don’t think I’ve abandoned them. Or that I died. Or some other tragical thing like that. 🙂

    • The One That I Want is the only Jennifer Echols novel that I haven’t read. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that I’ll like it. I was just curious about Chocolate Wishes because I’m a chocoholic. 😛

      Thanks for the heads up about your new blog. Glad you chose WordPress because I think it’s a great blogging platform.

  2. I am so sad 😦 I have a stack of books waiting to be read…and instead I’m working on an end-of-December deadline that I’m not sure I’ll even make! I’m jealous of your Sunday library days. I remember when I used to have those! Just need to get through December and maybe I can fit those in again 🙂 The One That I Want is a book that is on my TBR list. I’ll have to check out the others you listed. Thanks for the post! I always enjoy reading them 🙂

    • Aww sorry to hear that you can’t read because of a deadline. I feel for you, I also get frustrated that I don’t have enough time to read because of work, chores, etc. Good luck with the deadline! You can reward yourself with good books after you’re done. 😀

      • That quote describes my love of books to a T 🙂 I’ve never thought of my addiction to books as a problem. I honestly cannot remember a time when I didn’t have a book in my hand, not after I learned to read, anyway! I remember how I used to pretend I was asleep, then I would read under the covers with a flashlight and my dad would say “you’re going to go blind!” And then I had to get glasses, ha! I’m definitely blaming the glasses on my genes, not on my books! My office desk is lined with books. Some I haven’t read, others I’ve read many times. I find comfort in just looking at those books on my desk. Even when I know I will have no time to read a book, I carry one with me, no matter where I go. In my car, in my purse… Wouldn’t it be awful to be someplace and have a spare moment to read, but nothing to read??? Oh my, I almost had a panic attack thinking about it 🙂 Thanks again for the wonderful post, Chachic!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

