Chachic's Book Nook

Warm Bodies Movie Trailer

16 Comments

I’m not a big zombie fan but I enjoyed reading Isaac Marion’s Warm Bodies last year. I was pleasantly surprised when I found out that there would be a film adaptation based on the book. The trailer is now out and it looks intriguing:

What do you think of the trailer? I think the film closely follows the novel but I have to wait and the see the whole thing before I can say that with any kind of certainty. Have you read the novel, what did you think of it? If you haven’t and you’re interested in watching the movie, you still have a couple of months to squeeze in some reading time. πŸ™‚

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

16 thoughts on “Warm Bodies Movie Trailer

  1. Oh hey! You know, no matter how many good reviews I read of this book, I just wasn’t interested. I don’t like romances with dead things…particularly ghosts and zombies. But, this trailer makes this look like so much fun! I just MIGHT want to read it now. πŸ˜›

    • So I know we’ve already chatted about this on Twitter. Let me know if you ever get to read the book, I’d like to know what you think. You can always just watch the movie without reading the book, you know. πŸ˜›

  2. I like the trailer but I dunno, I feel like it has more humor than the book presented. But still, I like that they stuck with the book and didn’t go off in some random direction.

    I like the actor they chose for R πŸ™‚

    • Sandy, you do have a point there – the trailer makes it seem like the movie has more humor than the book. I don’t mind though, I have a feeling they did that on purpose to appeal to more viewers. Looks like they still followed the story closely.

      Yeah, I like the actor for R as well. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh my gosh, wow, that looks so good! I really enjoyed Warm Bodies but I don’t remember the funny touches that it looks like they added to the film. Can’t wait for this one, thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    • Bonnie, Sandy was right in her comment above – it looks like they made the movie funnier (maybe also lighter) than the book. If you enjoyed the book, it’s more likely that you’ll enjoy the movie as well.

  4. I will forever and ever associate Nicholas Hoult as his Skins character. Even though I’ll probably watch this movie, it mostly makes me want to watch more Skins episodes:)

    • Flann, you know I’ve never seen that series? I’ve seen you and Jo talk about it on Twitter though so I’ve been curious. Maybe I should try and watch one of the episodes.

  5. It’s looking promising. Hopefully they played up the humor element per Sandy’s comment in the trailer and it will be less of a spoof overall. Did you hear about some of the deprecating things Isaac Marion said about the practice of cross-shelving Warm Bodies in YA in some bookstores? If not you can read about it here. So sad. Makes me not want to support him and his future projects. 😦

    • Holly, thanks for linking to that blog post about Isaac Marion. I was totally clueless when I put up this trailer! I can’t believe he said those things, makes me feel like you did. I have a feeling I won’t be that enthusiastic about his next books because of that.

  6. I agree with Sandy, I feel like the trailer has more humor in it than the book does, but I’m still excited to watch it! I think the casting seems pretty solid for it, too.

    • Capillya, I agree about the casting. I think they did a good job in choosing the actors for this. Having more humor than the book isn’t really a bad thing. πŸ˜›

      • Agreed. And I don’t think the book was near as lovely romantic as the trailer lets on, too. Because when I heard about that part of the storyline I was like “WHAT? GROSS!” but then the way it was handled in the novel made sense.

      • Exactly! I thought a zombie romance would be pretty gross as well but it was handled well in the book. It does feel like the movie focuses more on the romance than the book did. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

  7. I saw this floating around on twitter. The trailer doesn’t really show R eating Perry’s brain before starting to have feelings for Julie, so maybe that’s changed. Or maybe that’s carefully edited to keep the preview less violent. The one complaint I have is that when I watch this trailer, I feel like I’ve seen the whole movie. Wish it would give us less information about the whole plot than it has.

    • Yeah, I noticed the same thing. Maybe they left that part out so there would be more of an explanation when it actually happens. You’re right, the trailer gives a lot of details but maybe that’s to entice more people who haven’t read the book to watch it?

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

