Want Books: Days of Blood and Starlight

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone was one of my favorite reads last year. I fell in love with Laini Taylor’s lyrical writing and immediately wanted more. The sequel, Days of Blood and Starlight, is one of my most anticipated novels this year. Its release date is November 6 but unfortunately, the book still isn’t available in bookstores or even the library here in Singapore. Sigh, maybe I should have pre-ordered the book so I wouldn’t have this problem right now.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she isβ€”and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?

Are you looking forward to reading this as well? I know several bloggers have finished reading this but I’m trying not to read reviews because I have a feeling I’ll just feel worse that I still don’t have a copy.

13 thoughts on “Want Books: Days of Blood and Starlight

  1. I’ve been waiting for this book ever since I finished DoSaB! I have to know what happens next. o_o I saw a stack of copies yesterday at my local bookstore but I didn’t have any money on me to buy one. It was painful, lol. But my birthday’s this Monday so I’m hoping someone will get it for me ;D

    Aww, well here’s hoping that the book makes its way to you soon! *crosses fingers*

    • Sandy, me too! I’ve been waiting for this ever since I finished reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which is why I’ve been hunting for a copy once the release date rolled around. Aww I really hope someone gives you a copy for your birthday. πŸ™‚ Advanced Happy Birthday, by the way.

    • I know, looks like Singapore is similar to the Philippines in the sense that we don’t get books on their release day. Let me know what you think of this when you get to read it!

  2. Have you noticed that the acronyms for the two books just switched two letters around? DoSaB and DoBaS. Hehe. More action in this one compared to the first book which was mostly set-up.

    • LOL I have noticed the similarities in the titles of the two books. The acronyms make things confusing so I don’t think I will be using it. Kim, you’re done reading the book? That was fast!

  3. Hehe. Of course it was good. New characters and more character development on the old ones are always welcome. I actually warmed up more to Akiva in this one.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

