Shoot That Book: LOTR map

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

When I got my my Lord of the Rings stamp pendant, I was already planning to take pictures of it with one of the books in the series. I got the chance to do that when I went home a few weeks ago. Here’s the stamp with the cover of The Fellowship of the Ring as its background:

LOTR book and pendant

The pendant is a glass-covered stamp that features a map of Middle-Earth. It was a UK stamp released in 2004 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the publication of The Lord of the Rings. Here’s the pendant with the accompanying map in my hardcover edition:

LOTR map and pendant

I think I need to get this All Seeing Eye shirt from Threadless to go with this pendant. I could wear both of them when I watch the movie adaptation of The Hobbit. πŸ™‚

All Seeing Eye

Image from the Threadless website

13 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: LOTR map

  1. Ooooh, I’m so excited that you got one of these pendants, Chachic! I’ve seen them and loved on them from afar, but haven’t known anyone who’s picked one up. I’d totally choose a LotR map too! I do have the LotR subway map shirt from Threadless. =)

    • Heidi, I’ve been checking out the Etsy store since I found out about it. I finally gave in and bought two of the pendants when I moved here. I figured Singpost is safer than Philpost so I didn’t have to worry about the pendants getting lost in the mail.

      I didn’t know there was a LOTR subway map shirt in Threadless. I had to search for it after I saw your comment. Hmm I’m not a fan of white shirts so maybe I’ll stick with the All Seeing Eye. πŸ˜›

  2. I just looked through all the postage stamp art on the Etsy page and I waaaant them all! πŸ™‚ I love the one you picked, though. It looks awesome.

    Unrelated, but I saw that Narnia edition you have with all the illustrations yesterday at Half Price Books for 19.99 but the very top of the spine was crunched down a bit and I can’t handle buying keeper books that have flaws like that. I’ve been wanting that book since you shot it and wrote about it for us:)

    • Flann, go order one of them! Would love to see what you’d end up getting. There are so many nice ones and I had a hard time deciding what to get, I’m happy with my choices though.

      Oh sorry to hear that you haven’t found a good copy of that Narnia edition yet. I hope you find one soon. It was harder to find a few years ago, had to order that from Amazon. But I’ve seen it in some of the bookstores in Manila recently so it might be easier to get now. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Have you seen The Hobbit? | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

