MNL to SIN Stash Part 2

Last Friday was a holiday both here in Singapore and in Manila so I took advantage of that and flew back home for the first time since I moved here. I did a Manila to Singapore stash post when I first got here so I thought it would be a good idea to make it a series of posts – I’d show everyone what I manage to squeeze into my limited luggage space every time I go home. It felt like I was shopping for new books when I grabbed these off my shelves:

Nightshifted by Cassie Alexander
Strong Poison by Dorothy Sayers
To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines
Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John
Dogsbody by Diana Wynne Jones
Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

Pretty excited to read all of these! Four of those books were given as gifts and I think that’s always a good thing. πŸ˜› I also got my copies of these two books because a co-worker was asking for recommendations similar to Dune (haven’t read the series but I asked bloggers on Twitter and these seem like a good choice):

I thought I’d share a picture of my messy bookshelf:

Didn’t get to rearrange everything before leaving. Also, here are some Puffin postcards that I framed and displayed in my bookshelf:

What about the rest of you, have you gotten any good books lately?

10 thoughts on “MNL to SIN Stash Part 2

  1. Nice! I am also reading NIGHTSHIFTED at the moment (read about 100 or so pages) . πŸ™‚ I saw your tweet about what you had to pack in your luggage so I’m amazed you had room for that many books! Good packing job there.

    • Oooh what do you think of Nightshifted so far? My copy was sent by Heidi. πŸ˜€ That’s what I call “creative packing” – I had a 20kg check in suitcase, a 7kg handcarry suitcase and then stashed like 5 books in my backpack. They didn’t weigh the backpack because that’s counted as my purse, I think.

    • What do you think of it so far? I really need to read more urban fantasy! I ordered the Puffin postcard set from the Book Depository, all of the framed cards shown here are from that set. πŸ˜› I also have the Ladybird set but it isn’t as nice.

    • Aww thanks, Flann. I miss having my bookshelf within reach. There were times when I would just stare at it because I couldn’t decide what to read next. I don’t have that kind of luxury now. But it makes me happy that I have some of my books here with me.

      Oh I didn’t know that you’re a Dune fan! I should have asked you for recommendations. Well, those two books are with him now so I’ll wait and see what he thinks of them. I think To Say Nothing of the Dog will also be a good rec because he’s a Dr. Who fan but I haven’t read that book yet (or watched the series).

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

