Postcard Love: Sending Postcards from Singapore

It’s so much easier to send postcards here in Singapore than back home in Manila. In the Philippines, I had to swing by the post office to buy stamps and drop off postcards. Over here, I can buy postage labels from conveniently located SingPost machines like this one:

SAM machine

postage labels

I just wish I could choose different label designs because using the same one gets boring. I haven’t had a chance to buy philatelic stamps from the post office yet. To send off the postcard, I can just drop them in mailboxes all over Singapore:

SingPost mailbox

Pretty easy, right? I’ve also mentioned that there are so many quirky stalls and stores that sell cute postcards. Here are some that I’ve picked up since I got here:

postcard set and stamp stickers

illustrated postcard set and stamp stickers

letter animal postcards

Alphabet animal postcards from an indie bookstore

Huge postcards from the Singapore Art Museum

Huge postcards from the Singapore Art Museum

Shooting Stars postcards

Another illustrated postcard set, mostly featuring girls and cats

What’s the procedure like for sending postcards in your country? I know the system is pretty similar in the US and Singapore – from what I’ve experienced so far, those two countries are the most convenient places to send postcards from. Also, feel free to share pictures if you’ve come across any nice postcards lately.

16 thoughts on “Postcard Love: Sending Postcards from Singapore

  1. So pretty!!
    I have a hard time findig postcards here. Usually just find them at museums – where they are quite pricey – or downtown where they are mostly of landmarks and stuff like that. nothing like illustrated postcards.

    And we used to have machines like that here, there was one at my university campus and I used to send mail from there, but they took them away. There are mailboxes around the city but I’ve never seen anyone use them, so I usually just go to the actual post office and drop them there.

    • We do get a lot of landmark postcards over here as well, I think those are more common than illustrated postcards. They’re usually available in tourist spots all over Singapore. I really like the postcards featuring famous Singaporean dishes (you can see one in the mailbox picture that I posted). However, there are also a lot of stationery and crafts stores in malls here and most of them also sell postcards.

      Sorry to hear that they took out the mail machine in your campus! Isn’t it such a hassle to drop by the post office whenever you need to send off postcards?

  2. You know, I’m from Mexico ….although I live in Seattle, WA, USA now…but back home it’s very similar to the US. You can buy postcards just about anywhere and then just mail them in mail slots or post offices. πŸ™‚

    p.s. I LOVE and ADORE the illustration type ones!! Sooooo cute!! πŸ˜€

    p.s. 2 I think your blog is adorable πŸ™‚ So much fun reading about your book tastes and your life in Singapore πŸ™‚

    • Aww thanks for the lovely words! I’m a bit worried that blog readers aren’t enjoying my non-bookish posts but I want to talk about what’s it like here in Singapore so I still squeeze them in. As for postcard-related posts, I usually send postcards to fellow book bloggers so I think there’s a crossover appeal for those. πŸ˜›

  3. I like the post machines. Actually we HAD a stamp machine at work but they removed it (to buy books of stamps), and the machines that work like the Singapore post machine over here are INSIDE my post office – so closed when the PO is closed. Not so convenient. If I want convenience I have to buy stamps and know how much postage to put on myself (and then mail it in a mailbox in my apartment), and that doesn’t work for packages if they are over a certain weight or size. Poop.

    • Too bad they removed the stamp machine at your office! Were you able to choose different designs when it was there though? The post offices also have these machines OUTSIDE post office branches so people can still buy postage labels when the post office is closed. Ah, I haven’t tried sending packages yet, I’ve only sent postcards so far. So I’m familiar with the postage amount for that. Although I think the machines have that kind of information.

  4. The somewhat annoying thing about sending international postcards from the US is that we only have one option for the perfect amount of postage. ($1.05) It’s a boring Amish buggy stamp–I’m sure I’ve sent it to you before. OR we can buy a bunch of different stamps and try to get $1.05. The ones I sent you most recently (Pixar and seeing-eye dogs) adds up to $1.10 but sometimes I just get tired of using the single stamp. Some of the postcrossing cards I get have the coolest stamps on them!

    • That’s so weird that you only have one option for international postcards. Hmm wait, I think the same thing applies in the Philippines. You can just change it up by getting smaller denominations that add up to the right amount – just like you mentioned. Philatelic stamps (the bigger ones that had better designs), only come in one amount, 7 pesos, so each postcard that I sent before had an excess of 1 peso whenever I used those stamps. Wow, you sent me a postcard with a Pixar stamp? Looking forward to getting that!

  5. Pingback: Postcard Love: The Hobbit, Narnia and Les Miserables | Chachic's Book Nook

  6. hi! so how do you actually use the machine to buy the stamps? I heard you have to pay using some card or something? I might visit the country in December and some postcrossing friends wants me to send postcards while I’m there but I’m not sure if I could find time to actually go to the post office.

    • Hi Fellicia, I answered this question in a comment above. Just repeating what I said earlier: these postcards are from various stores like Sparkling Stars, Singapore Art Museum, a bookstore in Millenia Walk. πŸ˜›

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

