Chachic's Book Nook

Easy by Tammara Webber

17 Comments

I first found out about Easy by Tammara Webber through Angie’s review. When Angie stars bibliovangelizing, I listen. And it looks like I’m not the only one because several blogger friends started reading this after her review went up. I was further encouraged to read it when my friend Janice mentioned that she couldn’t stop reading the book once she started.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup two months into sophomore year. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, and failing a class for the first time in her life.

Leaving a party alone, Jacqueline is assaulted by her ex’s frat brother. Rescued by a stranger who seems to be in the right place at the right time, she wants nothing more than to forget the attack and that night – but her savior, Lucas, sits on the back row of her econ class, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. Her friends nominate him to be the perfect rebound.

When her attacker turns stalker, Jacqueline has a choice: crumple in defeat or learn to fight back. Lucas remains protective, but he’s hiding secrets of his own. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.

I like that we’re getting more and more New Adult reads nowadays. As much as I love contemporary YA, it’s nice to read a book set in college to mix things up a bit. I wasn’t initially impressed by Jacqueline’s decision of giving up her dream of going to a music conservatory to go with her high school boyfriend to his college of choice instead. Felt like she should have put a little more thought into making a decision as big as that. But she redeemed herself in my eyes with this little bit:

“My roommate had never understood my compulsion to read when I had free time, especially if there were campus social events to attend.”

I get you Jacqueline, I really do. If I was your college roommate, we could have reading parties in our dorm room every weekend. *nerdy girl high-five* Easy reminded me a bit of Flat-Out Love because both novels are set in college and the characters engage in email flirtation. I think it’s great how realistic the college setting was. Well, I don’t exactly know how college in the US feels like but Easy reminded me of my own experience – attending big classes, cramming for exams, how fun it was to form friendships. I feel like I need to read more books like this – immensely readable with a swoon-worthy romance. The kind that puts a smile in my face while I’m reading it. Lucas seems like a bad boy on the surface because of all his tattoos, motorcycle and tendency to not pay attention in class. But that’s just how he seems, he really is a good guy deep inside. He actually reminded me of another Lucas in a different book because of his bad boy image. It was interesting to get to know him through Jacqueline’s eyes because he had so many layers – he had his own issues to work through. I also liked that there was time for the attraction to blossom between the two characters because I’m always up for slow burn romance. Honestly, I feel like I don’t have the words to describe how much I enjoyed reading this one. A draft has been sitting in my dashboard ever since I finished reading it weeks (or has it been months) ago. If you enjoy your contemporary romance with a generous serving of issues, then you’ll probably like Easy just as much as I did.

Other reviews:
Angieville
Janicu’s Book Blog
Cuddlebuggery Book Blog

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Easy by Tammara Webber

  1. I’ve been hearing so much about this one that I feel like I have to read it 😛 So i’ll try, soon.

    I’m glad you liked it so much 😀

  2. Aw, love that feeling when you’re not sure you have the words to describe how much you enjoyed a book.

    I’m glad it was this one. 🙂

    • Angie, I looked it up in Goodreads – I finished reading this one months ago and it’s taken me so long to post a review. I wanted to talk about it though since I liked it so much. 🙂 Feel free to recommend more bibliocrack with broken characters. I know you’re the expert when it comes to that.

  3. I was sort of turned off by the synopsis of this book, but if you liked it then I will give it a go.

    • Brandy, what was it about the synopsis that turned you off? I don’t think I would have picked this up either if not for the positive reviews that I’ve seen about it. I hope you end up liking it.

  4. I adored this book! I read it one Sunday morning, and just absolutely fell in love. I think Lucas is AWESOME.

    • Alexa, I don’t find it surprising that you loved Easy. 😛 I do agree that Lucas is a amazing, he’s a great character. Oh hey, you should check out Fairy Tale Fail as well.

  5. I was surprised by how much I liked this book! Why aren’t there more New Adult books?!

  6. I have been hearing wonderful things about this book for months, now. After I read the first positive review of Easy, I immediately downloaded it, but just never read it. I really want to, though, and hope to get to it soon.

    Thanks for the review. 🙂

    • Quinn, I did the same thing. Grabbed a copy as soon as I could and then put off reading it until I felt like it. Hope you get to read it soon, I know how hard it is sometimes to prioritize books because we get distracted by other books in the TBR pile. 😛

  7. so cool to see a review from you. i loved easy as well. it was so addictive and readable. i really have a thing for new adult books ~ i’ve outgrown a lot of mid-YA stuff, so new aduklt is the perfect read for me in between chunky adult books

    x Nomes

    • Nomes, thanks so much for dropping by! I really should review books more often, right? I’m still in the process of adjusting to Singapore so I haven’t found fully settled in yet. Hopefully, I’ll be able to blog more in the coming months. Me too, really enjoying New Adult more than YA recently. 😀

  8. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples IV | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: The Ivy Series by Sarina Bowen | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

