Want Books: House of Shadows

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’ve only read one Rachel Neumeier novel, which was The City in the Lake. I didn’t love it like I expected but I keep hearing good things about her other books so I’m still curious about them. House of Shadows has gotten rave reviews from some of the bloggers I follow, which is why I chose it as my Want Books pick for this week. I haven’t seen it in the bookstores here so I will probably just wait for it to become available in the library. There’s a copy of The Floating Islands in the library so I have a feeling they will also get House of Shadows. This seems like the type of epic fantasy novel that I’d enjoy reading.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Orphaned, two sisters are left to find their own fortunes.

Sweet and proper, Karah’s future seems secure at a glamorous Flower House. She could be pampered for the rest of her life… if she agrees to play their game.

Nemienne, neither sweet nor proper, has fewer choices. Left with no alternative, she accepts a mysterious mage’s offer of an apprenticeship. Agreeing means a home and survival, but can Nemienne trust the mage?

With the arrival of a foreign bard into the quiet city, dangerous secrets are unearthed, and both sisters find themselves at the center of a plot that threatens not only to upset their newly found lives, but also to destroy their kingdom.

Looks intriguing! What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

8 thoughts on “Want Books: House of Shadows

  1. Yay! Happy to see you pick this one for your Want Books. =)

    I’m hoping you end up liking The Floating Islands more than City in the Lake, House of Shadows was just my second book by her. I can see who some people don’t get into her writing, but I’ve very much enjoyed it thus far.

    • Was The Floating Islands her other book that you’ve read? I really should check that out of the library again when I finish the two books that I borrowed yesterday. I do hope I like House of Shadows more than City in the Lake. πŸ™‚

      • I have not read Floating Island yet, but it’s sitting on my shelf waiting for me. I’ve read the first book in her Griffin Mage trilogy.

      • Let me know what you think when you get to Floating Island! Oh I didn’t know she wrote a trilogy, I’ve only heard of her standalone novels. How was it?

    • Ha! Flann, have you seen Heidi’s reply above? LOL it came after yours so she must have seen what you said. Glad to know I’m not the only one who wants to read House of Shadows. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m pretty sure Heidi convinced me to read this one too πŸ™‚ I snagged this one off Paperback swap a few weeks ago but I have yet to sit down with it. I’m expecting good things tho!

    • Michelle, great that you were able to get a copy through Paperback Swap! I’m surprised that it’s already available there since it’s pretty new, right? I’ll just watch out for it in the library. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

