Shoot That Book: Crazy Beautiful

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I’m a sucker for Beauty and the Beast retellings which is why Crazy Beautiful by Lauren Baratz-Logsted has been on my wishlist for a while. I grabbed it as soon as I saw that it’s available in the library. It’s been a few days since I started reading it but I’m not done yet. Here it is on the train:

And I took a picture of this little bit saying “we discuss books and life” because I liked it:

What about you, what book is keeping you entertained now? Also, what’s your favorite fairy tale retelling? I have several – Beauty by Robin McKinley, The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale, Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier, Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. Would love to discover more.

6 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Crazy Beautiful

  1. Oh, I keep meaning to read this book butI forget!
    I’m glad you’re liking it, I read another one by this author – the education of Bet -and I really liked it (it was adorable), so I’ll try to remember this one.

    • Alex, glad I reminded you about this book! I’m not loving it though, I find it a bit slow. And I feel like it’s written for a younger audience even though the characters are in high school.

  2. Oh right, Daughter of the Forest is a retelling. That one would have to be my absolute favorite. Followed by Song of the Sparrow, Beauty, Goose Girl and Ella Enchanted. I think Beauty and Goose Girl has the least changes when it comes to the original version?

    Based on the cover, I never expected Crazy Beautiful to be a Beauty and the Beast retelling. But it’s a modern day retelling unlike the other titles we mentioned. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I wanted to include Song of the Sparrow in the list but I realized that it’s not based on a fairy tale so I didn’t mention it. ๐Ÿ˜› I agree – both Beauty and The Goose Girl closely follow the tale where they’re based on but with just fully fleshed out narratives.

      Yep, this one is a modern-day adaptation similar to Beastly by Alex Flinn. I find that I’m more interested in retellings that aren’t set in the present. Still willing to give this a try though. ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Oh right. It’s based on Arthurian Legends. Hmm, I don’t think I’ve ever tried a modern-day retelling before.

        By the way, I read Donna Jo Napoli’s Bound, the one you sent; and I may have liked it more than you did based on the Goodreads star rating. ๐Ÿ™‚ I never thought the oriental setting would work for me, but I was fine with it. I still liked the other titles I mentioned better but I think it’s still a pretty solid retelling. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • I can’t even remember the details for that book! LOL it didn’t leave much of an impression. So I’m glad I was able to pass on my copy to you because looks like you ended up liking it a lot more than I did.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

